Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2012, 07:25 AM   #1
spoonman
CC
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,332
iTrader: 0
spoonman is on a distinguished road
Default Photon Strike Bounzer vs Gorz

Can it negate the token summoning effect?
__________________


3rd place Australian Nationals 2014
13th place World Championship 2013
1st place Oceanic Championship 2013
Top 16 Australian Nationals 2013
Top 8 Australian Nationals 2012
spoonman is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 07:45 AM   #2
Ridders
Go to bed.
 
Ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 13,804
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Ridders is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes .
__________________

Ridders is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 07:48 AM   #3
faku24
Pojo Veteran
 
faku24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 584
iTrader: 0
faku24 is on a distinguished road
Default

That and the Damage eff activates on the field and can be negated by Bounzer
faku24 is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:02 AM   #4
Dark_Matter
Registered User
 
Dark_Matter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 197
iTrader: 0
Dark_Matter is on a distinguished road
Default

I thought, only card that negate activation can be activated on damage step.
#in regard to quick effect that doesn't alter atk/def.
Dark_Matter is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 08:05 AM   #5
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,695
iTrader: 0
AntiTcb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Matter View Post
I thought, only card that negate activation can be activated on damage step.
#in regard to quick effect that doesn't alter atk/def.
It seems that Quick Effects that can negate an effect that have to be chained directly can be used during the Damage Step. Blue-Eyes Shining Dragon, Skull Meister, etc.
__________________
DN Name: AntiTcb (Head Administrator)
RC - 1, RC - 2, and PC - 1 certified Judge
Premier (YCS/WCQ) events judged: 6
The Organization (Number XVI)
Quote:
Originally Posted by yugi0h View Post
There are no stupid questions, there are just stupid people asking a simple question for an obvious answer.
AntiTcb is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 10:15 AM   #6
Homer of Chaos
War.Greymon
 
Homer of Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Age: 26
Posts: 19,778
iTrader: 171 (100%)
Homer of Chaos is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark_Matter View Post
I thought, only card that negate activation can be activated on damage step.
#in regard to quick effect that doesn't alter atk/def.
Things that negate effects that can activate in the damage step are fine, as long as they do it directly.

Quote:
Quick Effect Monster Cards that negate the activation of other cards or effects ("Herald of Perfection, "Horus the Black Flame Dragon LV8").
__________________

Self-Proclaimed Semi-Retired Champion Duelist
YGO H/W: Looking for DT Emeral, Odd-Eyes, Summoner's Art
Homer's Middleman Services
Homer of Chaos is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 11:40 AM   #7
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,819
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Homer of Chaos View Post
Things that negate effects that can activate in the damage step are fine, as long as they do it directly.
Edit:Nvm. 10 char.

Last edited by The Chief : 06-05-2012 at 11:49 AM.
The Chief is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 01:16 PM   #8
Dark_Matter
Registered User
 
Dark_Matter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 197
iTrader: 0
Dark_Matter is on a distinguished road
Default

well, to be fair, without a bracket, that text is ambiguous though, it could mean:
"...negate the activation of other (cards or effects)..." or
"...negate the (activation of other cards) or effects..."
hints: a(b+c) = ab + ac.
Dark_Matter is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 01:31 PM   #9
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,925
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

It is correct, it just doesn't cover Bounzer in that listing. Bounzer can activate during the Damage Step.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:00 PM   #10
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,769
iTrader: 5 (86%)
bioober is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-Tcb View Post
It seems that Quick Effects that can negate an effect that have to be chained directly can be used during the Damage Step. Blue-Eyes Shining Dragon, Skull Meister, etc.
Gemini Imps
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:17 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,740
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
Gemini Imps
Which might be outdated now that it has PST.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:41 PM   #12
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,769
iTrader: 5 (86%)
bioober is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Which might be outdated now that it has PST.
Or unless they add the (except during the damage step) clause.
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 02:53 PM   #13
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,925
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
Or unless they add the (except during the damage step) clause.
They didn't (Turbo pack 8).
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #14
bioober
Pojo Veteran
 
bioober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,769
iTrader: 5 (86%)
bioober is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
They didn't (Turbo pack 8).
So will this be another card that contradicts how it works in the OCG?
__________________
bioober is offline  
Old 06-05-2012, 04:15 PM   #15
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,925
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bioober View Post
So will this be another card that contradicts how it works in the OCG?
For now, it is. It may be in need of revision, since Imps is so old in the OCG and the last time they re-affirmed it doesn't work was over 3 years ago.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 05-16-2014, 02:28 AM   #16
halibonga
Registered User
 
halibonga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 283
iTrader: 0
halibonga is on a distinguished road
Default

what about Tragoedia? can bounzer negate Tragoedia's ATK gain?
halibonga is offline  
Old 05-16-2014, 08:04 AM   #17
kinhcan1002
Ruling Apprentice
 
kinhcan1002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ho Chi Minh City, VN
Age: 21
Posts: 1,607
iTrader: 0
kinhcan1002 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by halibonga View Post
what about Tragoedia? can bounzer negate Tragoedia's ATK gain?
No, it cannot. Tragoedia's ATK gaining effect is Continuous.
__________________
It's not right but it's OK...
kinhcan1002 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.