Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2012, 09:29 AM   #1
Joao.Cardoso
Pojo Veteran
 
Joao.Cardoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,221
iTrader: 32 (100%)
Default Naturia Beast, Evolzar Dolkka and ect in the damage step vs Yu-Gi-Oh RuleBook!!

I thought it was clear that you could just eat Naturia Beast by reducing it's attack in the Damage Step via Forbidden Lance. I was talking about this with a friend and he said you couldn't.

I checked the rulings for the card... and it's stated that as an OCG ruling that you can't...

I read the manual, my TCG one... and it quotes:

Quote:
Limitations on Activating Cards
During the Damage Step, you can only activate Counter Trap Cards, or cards with effects that directly change a monster’s ATK or DEF. Also, these cards can only be activated up until the start of damage calculation.
I don't recall Naturia Beast being any of both, the same goes for Evolzar Dolkka vs Gorz.

What's the purpose of the manual then?
__________________

Joao.Cardoso is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 09:40 AM   #2
DarwinDawkins09
Blind Watchmaker
 
DarwinDawkins09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 23
Posts: 1,931
iTrader: 0
Default

Effects of monsters that negate the activations of cards or effects can be activated during the damage step. Ex. Stardust Dragon, Herald of Orange Light, Legendary Six Samurai Shi En.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TsengFox View Post
Darwin! My Hero!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamtwilight View Post
Darwin knows what he's talking about, he invented people for god's sake.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CardShopKid View Post
And Darwin spoke, and the people rejoiced.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosh View Post
You just got evolution'd.
DarwinDawkins09 is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 10:03 AM   #3
Bubbleh
The Baron
 
Bubbleh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vail, CO (from 11/9/13)
Age: 20
Posts: 4,233
iTrader: 19 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarwinDawkins09 View Post
Effects of monsters that negate the activations of cards or effects can be activated during the damage step. Ex. Stardust Dragon, Herald of Orange Light, Legendary Six Samurai Shi En.
This right here answers it.

That's how Rai-Oh can negate the summon of Gorz.
Bubbleh is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 10:05 AM   #4
DarwinDawkins09
Blind Watchmaker
 
DarwinDawkins09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Texas
Age: 23
Posts: 1,931
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubbleh View Post
This right here answers it.

That's how Rai-Oh can negate the summon of Gorz.
Thunder King Rai-Oh cannot negate the summon of Gorz, this is because Thunder King can only negate inherent summons not summons that occur at the resolution of an effect nor can it negate effects that summon.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by TsengFox View Post
Darwin! My Hero!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamtwilight View Post
Darwin knows what he's talking about, he invented people for god's sake.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CardShopKid View Post
And Darwin spoke, and the people rejoiced.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roosh View Post
You just got evolution'd.
DarwinDawkins09 is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 11:12 AM   #5
Joao.Cardoso
Pojo Veteran
 
Joao.Cardoso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 1,221
iTrader: 32 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarwinDawkins09 View Post
Effects of monsters that negate the activations of cards or effects can be activated during the damage step. Ex. Stardust Dragon, Herald of Orange Light, Legendary Six Samurai Shi En.
Yes, you are right. I know that's how it's been ruled but why is the manual obsolete then?

According to manual only cards that affect atk or def and counter trap cards can be used in the damage step. Period. Cards above are any of those. That's what is stated. People shouldn't need to know individual rulings for such a basic thing.

Imagine that you are facing a casual player in a YCS, he summons Gorz in the damage step and you negated it via Dolkka. He claims that you can't and he pulls a rulebook out of his pocket ver 8.0 and show you that you can't according to the sentence above. You call the judge and he obviously rule in your favor... but he is still right. The manual says you can't...

So my point is... what's the manual for?
__________________

Joao.Cardoso is offline  
Old 05-11-2012, 11:17 AM   #6
Ridders
I burn.
 
Ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 13,443
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Default

The rulebook is for teaching the basic's of the game.

The rulebook also notes that when something conflicts between what the rulebook says and a card effect, you go with the card effect.

The rulebook gives the basics, once you start reading FAQ's and such online, it's time to move on from using it.
__________________

Ridders is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.