Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-26-2012, 05:52 AM   #1
sKrod
Pojo Veteran
 
sKrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 865
iTrader: 13 (100%)
Default Inzektor YCS Long Beach Ruling~~~

There was a fuss about the way inzektors ruling at YCS Long Beach 2012.


#1
This was a ruling that came from the a final decision between the 3 assisting head judge and the head judge himself.

Description from my friend:
1. Inzektor Dragonfly activate effect to equip Hornet
2. Opponent chains Forbidden Lance.
3. Inzektor hornet is equipped but there will be no attack booster or level change. Further more, Inzektor hornet can activate it's effect to destroy a card on the field.
4. However, if inzektor hornet is removed from the field while "equipped" to Inzektor Dragonfly, Inzektor Dragonfly will be unable to activate it's trigger effect to special summon an Inzektor monster from the deck.

#2
Judges at YCS Long Beach ruled that you can activate Inzektor Hopper's effect during the first turn of the of the duel/main phase 2.

Can we get some clarifications?
__________________



My Embrassing Trades
sKrod is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:30 AM   #2
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,488
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sKrod View Post
Can we get some clarifications?
No, just use the search function. Stop assuming that rulings given at a YCS are automatically correct, because that's how rumors are spread even if the rulings given weren't really made at all.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 11:32 AM   #3
Deathgodd
DN: deathgodd
 
Deathgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 21
Posts: 1,032
iTrader: 0
Default

-->best link on pojo<--

hope this helps, your not the first person to constantly ask this questions, if i really wanted too, i would take the time to copy and paste every thread that has asked this same question
__________________


Deck: Zombie Mill/Crystal Beast/Darklord Agents/Infernities/Psychic Plants
Deathgodd is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 11:35 AM   #4
Natu Utan
JudgeNatu
 
Natu Utan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,197
iTrader: 26 (96%)
Default

I judged Longbeach.


I never heard anything about the Forbidden Lance thing,


But as for Hopper, Andrew Bowling, the head judge, told all of the judges before the event that Hopper can activate it's effect. This was after some nice conversation with Jerome Mchale, who said that ruling was right. For those of you who don't know, Jerome Mchale works in the R&D Department of Konami. He answers half of the rulings emails you all send him.
__________________
"Peace is a Lie, there is only Passion
Through Passion I gain Strength,
Through Strength I gain Power,
Through Power I gain Victory,
Through Victory my Chains are Broken,
The Force Shall Set you Free.."

Natu Utan is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 11:39 AM   #5
Deathgodd
DN: deathgodd
 
Deathgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 21
Posts: 1,032
iTrader: 0
Default

would it be possible to get an email or letter stating we can? for future references?
__________________


Deck: Zombie Mill/Crystal Beast/Darklord Agents/Infernities/Psychic Plants
Deathgodd is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 11:42 AM   #6
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,888
iTrader: 0
Default

Natu just said Jerome said you can.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 11:44 AM   #7
Deathgodd
DN: deathgodd
 
Deathgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 21
Posts: 1,032
iTrader: 0
Default

ik, but it would be nice to have it in the updated rulings (even though we all know no one reads it) not to mention several other people already have been told they couldn't do it, i'm not doubting him, i would just like a reference or something
__________________


Deck: Zombie Mill/Crystal Beast/Darklord Agents/Infernities/Psychic Plants
Deathgodd is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 11:48 AM   #8
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,888
iTrader: 0
Default

us-ygorules@konami.com.

Knock yourself out.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:14 PM   #9
Mr.Andy
Pojo Veteran
 
Mr.Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain, Navarra, pamplona (bulls party of the 7th of july!)
Age: 24
Posts: 4,659
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natu Utan View Post
I judged Longbeach.


I never heard anything about the Forbidden Lance thing,


But as for Hopper, Andrew Bowling, the head judge, told all of the judges before the event that Hopper can activate it's effect. This was after some nice conversation with Jerome Mchale, who said that ruling was right. For those of you who don't know, Jerome Mchale works in the R&D Department of Konami. He answers half of the rulings emails you all send him.
In both main phase 2 and 1st turn?

Additional Comment:

So, can sirocco now activate in main phase 2 or 1st turn?

Can Necro Gardna be activated in main phase 2?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart View Post
It's like if you met somebody named John. And you said, "John, I'm just going to call you Ghan instead. And anybody who doesn't call you Ghan from now on is doing it wrong. Because I said so. There, I posted it on the internet, too. Now it's official."
I play bunilla ftk. Without bunillas.
Also, ń.

Last edited by Mr.Andy : 03-26-2012 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Mr.Andy is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:17 PM   #10
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,888
iTrader: 0
Default

No, and no.

If you want implications, ask the guys who provided the new ruling, not us.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:23 PM   #11
Mr.Andy
Pojo Veteran
 
Mr.Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain, Navarra, pamplona (bulls party of the 7th of july!)
Age: 24
Posts: 4,659
iTrader: 0
Default

It was him I quoted :X

I'll asume your no and no are for the 2 questions in the aditional comment.

Also, this is a question for anyone: can blade armor ninja be used in 1st turn?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart View Post
It's like if you met somebody named John. And you said, "John, I'm just going to call you Ghan instead. And anybody who doesn't call you Ghan from now on is doing it wrong. Because I said so. There, I posted it on the internet, too. Now it's official."
I play bunilla ftk. Without bunillas.
Also, ń.

Last edited by Mr.Andy : 03-26-2012 at 02:25 PM.
Mr.Andy is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:29 PM   #12
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,888
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Andy View Post
It was him I quoted :X
There are plenty of Cards who may be implied with this ruling, it's not as if Natu can just assume the same goes for all of them. But there's someone who does...


Quote:
I'll asume your no and no are for the 2 questions in the aditional comment.
Yes, based on the available sources.

Quote:
Also, this is a question for anyone: can blade armor ninja be used in 1st turn?
Based on the available sources, no.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:34 PM   #13
Mega
The Storm Is Here!
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 23
Posts: 7,130
iTrader: 168 (99%)
Default

I really wish they'd give an explanation to why it can be used during the first turn (hopper) rather than just saying "yes".
__________________


When prayers turn to promises, not even fate can stand in your way.
Yugioh Trades
Mega is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:40 PM   #14
Natu Utan
JudgeNatu
 
Natu Utan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 4,197
iTrader: 26 (96%)
Default

The reasoning they gave for hopper working like that was because activating his effect caused another effect to activate.

Meaning, if you activate Hopper while equipped to dragonfly and centibeat then it would cause their effects to activate. But just activating Overpowering Eye on first turn or MP2 would cause nothing to happen.

I supposed I should have explained all this is my first post,

They said you can use Hopper if it was equipped to a Dragonfly or Centibeat, but you could not use it if it was equipped to like a Hornet or an Ant. The first 2 would cause an effect to activate, and the second 2 would cause nothing to happen.

Thats what all the judges at the 100th were told.
__________________
"Peace is a Lie, there is only Passion
Through Passion I gain Strength,
Through Strength I gain Power,
Through Power I gain Victory,
Through Victory my Chains are Broken,
The Force Shall Set you Free.."

Natu Utan is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:46 PM   #15
Mr.Andy
Pojo Veteran
 
Mr.Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain, Navarra, pamplona (bulls party of the 7th of july!)
Age: 24
Posts: 4,659
iTrader: 0
Default

But if you use sirocco effect on another blackwing you could give him high enough attack to use for any purpose other than attacking...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart View Post
It's like if you met somebody named John. And you said, "John, I'm just going to call you Ghan instead. And anybody who doesn't call you Ghan from now on is doing it wrong. Because I said so. There, I posted it on the internet, too. Now it's official."
I play bunilla ftk. Without bunillas.
Also, ń.
Mr.Andy is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:51 PM   #16
Mega
The Storm Is Here!
 
Mega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 23
Posts: 7,130
iTrader: 168 (99%)
Default

There is always purpose (if we want to be technical), and that is to manipulate the graveyard, even with the Overpowering Eye argument.
__________________


When prayers turn to promises, not even fate can stand in your way.
Yugioh Trades
Mega is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:51 PM   #17
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,273
iTrader: 0
Default

Stupid....inconsistent...rules....grrrr!
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:52 PM   #18
Deathgodd
DN: deathgodd
 
Deathgodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Age: 21
Posts: 1,032
iTrader: 0
Default

so we should just deem Hopper a BKSS, because that's basically what it is sounding like
__________________


Deck: Zombie Mill/Crystal Beast/Darklord Agents/Infernities/Psychic Plants
Deathgodd is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:53 PM   #19
Mr.Andy
Pojo Veteran
 
Mr.Andy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Spain, Navarra, pamplona (bulls party of the 7th of july!)
Age: 24
Posts: 4,659
iTrader: 0
Default

I'm calling this a kevin's Sangan.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart View Post
It's like if you met somebody named John. And you said, "John, I'm just going to call you Ghan instead. And anybody who doesn't call you Ghan from now on is doing it wrong. Because I said so. There, I posted it on the internet, too. Now it's official."
I play bunilla ftk. Without bunillas.
Also, ń.
Mr.Andy is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:12 PM   #20
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,488
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natu Utan View Post
They said you can use Hopper if it was equipped to a Dragonfly or Centibeat, but you could not use it if it was equipped to like a Hornet or an Ant. The first 2 would cause an effect to activate, and the second 2 would cause nothing to happen.
So this happened today, I see.

What is this ******ry. This is the worst Konami logic I've ever heard of.

Oh well, TCG.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:16 PM   #21
inebriation
Team Slushy - Yoda
 
inebriation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 2,596
iTrader: 16 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
So this happened today, I see.

What is this ******ry. This is the worst Konami logic I've ever heard of.

Oh well, TCG.
All I reed wuz, LOL, Hoper neew Sangan for make ruleez craihz,, lul neid squidy fur halp maks sinc uf mah wrytihng
__________________
Everyone has their own little internal world - A secret garden only they can enter. Each world follows its own internal logic - Individuality.
And the logic of one world means nothing in another. Comprehending other people isn't hard.....It's Possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GKP22 View Post
God I hate this thread.
inebriation is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:55 PM   #22
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,273
iTrader: 0
Default

So if I activate Soul Absorbtion, I should be able to banish Necro Gardna at any time.
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:24 PM   #23
PerfectProdigy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 225
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Natu Utan View Post
The reasoning they gave for hopper working like that was because activating his effect caused another effect to activate.

Meaning, if you activate Hopper while equipped to dragonfly and centibeat then it would cause their effects to activate. But just activating Overpowering Eye on first turn or MP2 would cause nothing to happen.

I supposed I should have explained all this is my first post,

They said you can use Hopper if it was equipped to a Dragonfly or Centibeat, but you could not use it if it was equipped to like a Hornet or an Ant. The first 2 would cause an effect to activate, and the second 2 would cause nothing to happen.

Thats what all the judges at the 100th were told.

Are we still waiting for an official ruling for this or is this how it is going to be ruled in all tournaments?
PerfectProdigy is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:27 PM   #24
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,273
iTrader: 0
Default

It basically is official.
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 06:49 PM   #25
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,888
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolnopound View Post
It basically is official.
For that tournament.

So that you know that this is how it was ruled in Long Beach.

For everything else, e-mail Konami to see if this is how Hopper or other Cards are to be interpretated.
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.