Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
spoonman
CC
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,438
iTrader: 0
spoonman is on a distinguished road
Default Utopia vs Dimensional Prison/Mirror Force

If a monster attacks and its controller's opponent activates Mirror Force or Dimensional Prison, can either player activate Utopia's effect to negate the attack and if they do will it cause DPrison/Mirror Force to fizzle?
__________________


Top 16 YCS Sydney Dec. 2014
3rd place Australian Nationals 2014
13th place World Championship 2013
1st place Oceanic Championship 2013
Top 16 Australian Nationals 2013
Top 8 Australian Nationals 2012
spoonman is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 03:50 PM   #2
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

They were activated properly. So they resolve fine.
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 03:51 PM   #3
CrazyCat
Rawr!
 
CrazyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Behind you
Posts: 16,729
iTrader: 0
CrazyCat is on a distinguished road
Default

Utopia has a Trigger effect, meaning it is Spell Speed 1, as opposed to Traps, which are auto-Spell Speed 2. Apply simple mechanics, so no, Utopia cannot.

It MUST be CL1, chained directly to the attack.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by theNS View Post
It's like Timmy brought the candy and Cat stole it for himself and ate it while everyone was overjoyed at the sight of said candy.
CrazyCat's Crazy Blog
CrazyCat's Crazy Channel
The Blue Ox Format: A Create-a-Card Proxy Format
CrazyCat is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

Utopia not SS2? Trigger is never 2?
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 03:57 PM   #5
CrazyCat
Rawr!
 
CrazyCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Behind you
Posts: 16,729
iTrader: 0
CrazyCat is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolnopound View Post
Utopia not SS2? Trigger is never 2?
No, Trigger effects are Spell Speed 1.

Also, this is a VERY helpful ruling:
Quote:
During the attack declaration, when the opponent already activated a card like Dimensional Prison, you cannot chain this card's effect.
Straight from Utopia's rulings.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by theNS View Post
It's like Timmy brought the candy and Cat stole it for himself and ate it while everyone was overjoyed at the sight of said candy.
CrazyCat's Crazy Blog
CrazyCat's Crazy Channel
The Blue Ox Format: A Create-a-Card Proxy Format
CrazyCat is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:10 PM   #6
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,365
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyCat View Post
Straight from Utopia's rulings.
Psha, who checks those? Not spoonman. He's too good for that.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

If the attack is negated, like chaining Negate Attack to Mirror Force/ Dimensional Prison (for no reason), effect still goes through right?
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:24 PM   #8
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,365
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolnopound View Post
If the attack is negated, like chaining Negate Attack to Mirror Force/ Dimensional Prison (for no reason), effect still goes through right?
Yes. Unless the other cards are also trying to negate the attack (which neither of them are), they'll resolve normally.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:26 PM   #9
MATT001
Pojo Veteran
 
MATT001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 0
MATT001 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lolnopound View Post
If the attack is negated, like chaining Negate Attack to Mirror Force/ Dimensional Prison (for no reason), effect still goes through right?
Dimensional Prison requires its target to remain correct (that is to say, an attacking monster) in order to resolve properly.
__________________
A cracking read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittLeD View Post
Thank you for saving the thread MATT, I was ready to tear my eye balls out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
I'm pretty sure that 2500 + 500 is 3000, not 2500, but I don't have a calculator on me to make sure.
MATT001 is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:32 PM   #10
ForteZanzo
The Just Sword
 
ForteZanzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Modesto, CA
Age: 26
Posts: 1,516
iTrader: 10 (100%)
ForteZanzo is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post

Yes. Unless the other cards are also trying to negate the attack (which neither of them are), they'll resolve normally.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT001 View Post
Dimensional Prison requires its target to remain correct (that is to say, an attacking monster) in order to resolve properly.
These contradict each other in the case of DP. Consensus?
__________________
Trades here.
ForteZanzo is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:48 PM   #11
OneManShow
Pojo Veteran
 
OneManShow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sweden
Age: 24
Posts: 1,900
iTrader: 0
OneManShow is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyCat View Post
Utopia has a Trigger effect, meaning it is Spell Speed 1, as opposed to Traps, which are auto-Spell Speed 2. Apply simple mechanics, so no, Utopia cannot.

It MUST be CL1, chained directly to the attack.
A slight nit-pick. Utopia doesn't have to be chain link 1 in all cases. Say for example you have 2 Utopias on the field, you can activate both of them in response to an attack in a SEGOC, naturally leaving one of them being chain link 2.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ForteZanzo View Post
These contradict each other in the case of DP. Consensus?
Looking at the ruling of Dimensional Prison, it does seem like the monster must remain being an attacking monster to properly resolve its effect.

_
__________________

Last edited by OneManShow : 01-24-2012 at 04:55 PM.
OneManShow is online now  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:56 PM   #12
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, look at the rulings for Scrubbed Raid. It says D Prison doesn't get effect if it's no longer attacking.

Additional Comment:

Is it ok to chain Mirror Force/D Prison to Utopia?
__________________
Senseker in Training

Last edited by lolnopound : 01-24-2012 at 04:56 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
lolnopound is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 04:59 PM   #13
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,365
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT001 View Post
Dimensional Prison requires its target to remain correct (that is to say, an attacking monster) in order to resolve properly.
Oh yea, it does that. >_>


Quote:
Originally Posted by lolnopound View Post
Is it ok to chain Mirror Force/D Prison to Utopia?
Yea, though I don't know why you would unless the opponent had "Herald of Orange Light" in the middle of them, or you're chaining to the second effect.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 01-24-2012, 05:01 PM   #14
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 18
Posts: 6,278
iTrader: 0
lolnopound is on a distinguished road
Default

Opponent needs a 3rd dark in grave so they attack with their own Utopia and detach a dark material?
__________________
Senseker in Training
lolnopound is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:21 PM   #15
spoonman
CC
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,438
iTrader: 0
spoonman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post

Psha, who checks those? Not spoonman. He's too good for that.
And Redshift is too good to not poke his head in every rules thread and flaunt his ego with useless, condescending posts? I've explained this to you before, it's more efficient for me to just post my question here and get an immediate & accurate answer than research it elsewhere.
__________________


Top 16 YCS Sydney Dec. 2014
3rd place Australian Nationals 2014
13th place World Championship 2013
1st place Oceanic Championship 2013
Top 16 Australian Nationals 2013
Top 8 Australian Nationals 2012
spoonman is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:44 PM   #16
Redsmas
Let It Go
 
Redsmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 3ds 0602-6248-3924
Age: 22
Posts: 12,940
iTrader: 0
Redsmas will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman View Post
And Redshift is too good to not poke his head in every rules thread and flaunt his ego with useless, condescending posts? I've explained this to you before, it's more efficient for me to just post my question here and get an immediate & accurate answer than research it elsewhere.
Its actually usually quicker to have a quick look on yugioh.wikia.com then post a question on here if you can't find a ruling to answer your question.
Redsmas is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:44 PM   #17
Dantesinferno
Quickdraw Master
 
Dantesinferno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,928
iTrader: 0
Dantesinferno is on a distinguished road
Default

luls so scrubbed's effect will fizzle out Mirror Force/d-prison?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Jones View Post
Jesus everything you just said wanted to make me punch babies
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The conversation went down like this:

I summon Raging Earth. I activate Scrap Lube, and chain Book of Moon on your Harpie Queen to flip her face-down.
Dantesinferno is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:48 PM   #18
MATT001
Pojo Veteran
 
MATT001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 0
MATT001 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dantesinferno View Post
luls so scrubbed's effect will fizzle out Mirror Force/d-prison?
If you Chain the effect of Scrubbed Raid to Dimensional Prison, Dimensional Prison will resolve without effect, since its target is no longer correct.

Mirror Force does not destroy attacking monsters, it destroys Attack Position monsters, so Chaining the effect of Scrubbed Raid would be moot.
__________________
A cracking read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittLeD View Post
Thank you for saving the thread MATT, I was ready to tear my eye balls out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
I'm pretty sure that 2500 + 500 is 3000, not 2500, but I don't have a calculator on me to make sure.
MATT001 is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:59 PM   #19
spoonman
CC
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,438
iTrader: 0
spoonman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redsmas View Post
Its actually usually quicker to have a quick look on yugioh.wikia.com then post a question on here if you can't find a ruling to answer your question.
However I run the risk of the answer not being there, which DOES happen quite often. And it's not so much the speed of the response, it's that I can do whatever else and just come back here whenever with the answer waiting for me.
__________________


Top 16 YCS Sydney Dec. 2014
3rd place Australian Nationals 2014
13th place World Championship 2013
1st place Oceanic Championship 2013
Top 16 Australian Nationals 2013
Top 8 Australian Nationals 2012
spoonman is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:02 PM   #20
Redsmas
Let It Go
 
Redsmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: 3ds 0602-6248-3924
Age: 22
Posts: 12,940
iTrader: 0
Redsmas will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman View Post
However I run the risk of the answer not being there, which DOES happen quite often. And it's not so much the speed of the response, it's that I can do whatever else and just come back here whenever with the answer waiting for me.
So really your just being lazy >_< It doesn't even take 30 second to check the wiki.
Redsmas is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:18 PM   #21
spoonman
CC
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Posts: 3,438
iTrader: 0
spoonman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redsmas View Post
So really your just being lazy >_< It doesn't even take 30 second to check the wiki.
Why do you care? I'm not being lazy I'm being efficient. If this works better for me than checking the Wiki does, why wouldn't I do it?
__________________


Top 16 YCS Sydney Dec. 2014
3rd place Australian Nationals 2014
13th place World Championship 2013
1st place Oceanic Championship 2013
Top 16 Australian Nationals 2013
Top 8 Australian Nationals 2012
spoonman is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:40 PM   #22
Inconceivable
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,204
iTrader: 0
Inconceivable is on a distinguished road
Default

^ It just means you want the answers to be spoon-fed to you. Probably suits you since you're "spoonman"

The thread has been answered. If Dimensional Prison is used, Utopia cannot chain its effect to negate the attack.
Inconceivable is offline  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:49 PM   #23
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,365
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman View Post
Why do you care? I'm not being lazy I'm being efficient. If this works better for me than checking the Wiki does, why wouldn't I do it?
Bandwidth, irritates mods, is slower, etc.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.