Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2012, 02:24 PM   #1
lolnopound
Priest of Judgment
 
lolnopound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Realm of Light
Age: 17
Posts: 6,162
iTrader: 0
Default Rulings related to Morphing Jar deck

I want to add a ruling section on my Discussion Thread for Empty Jar but need a few questions answered.

If my opponent and I both have fewer than 5 cards in deck and Morphing Jar activates, is it a tie or do I deckout first? Will it matter if I had 4 cards left and they only had 1?

I have 4 cards in hand and 2 in deck. Can I activate Card Destruction? If so, if it would deck out my opponent and I, is it a tie or do I deckout first?

In both scenarios, I am the turn player.

Thank you for your time.
__________________
Pojo Mod in Training

Check out my new youtube channel and latest video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rd67Y2DFQjs
lolnopound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 02:29 PM   #2
AntiTcb
Number XVI
 
AntiTcb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke, VA
Age: 20
Posts: 2,623
iTrader: 0
Default

1. Both of you will deck out as both of you have to draw upon resolution, and the draw is one whole event of getting 5 cards, not 5 separate draws of 1 card. The game is a tie.

2. You can activate Card Destruction. You both lose if neither of you can draw all the cards necessary upon resolution and the game is a tie.

Being the Turn Player means you perform a simultaneous action first, but it's still considered as both of you doing so at the same time. If both of you only have 1 card left in your Deck and Morphing Jar is flipped, you discard your hand, then your opponent discards your hand, you draw, they draw, the game is a tie. The discarding of hands and drawing are still considered simultaneous actions.

Last edited by AntiTcb : 01-02-2012 at 02:37 PM.
AntiTcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 02:30 PM   #3
Kyan Deathrow
Registered User
 
Kyan Deathrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Causing some Armageddon on field with my Judgment Dragon.
Age: 23
Posts: 284
iTrader: 0
Default

As turn player you get to activate and resolve effects first...

In these scenarios, you activate either of these effects, and you both are forced to draw until the effect resolves. Win conditions can't be applied until a card effect in the chain resolves completely and because of that, if he has 1 card and you have 4 with Morphing Jar, the duel ends in a draw, because Jar is still trying to resolve and have you draw as well. Doesn't matter how many cards either of you has left, you're both "required" to draw at the same time and as many cards as the card effects say you are.

The duel would end in a tie both times.
Kyan Deathrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:17 PM   #4
Jazriel
I am Game Design
 
Jazriel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 3,336
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-Tcb View Post
Being the Turn Player means you perform a simultaneous action first
I believe this is incorrect.
__________________
I judged Canadian Nationals 2k9.



Ask for ruling citation and thread gets locked? Looks like I win. Dark Flattop #1
Jazriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:26 PM   #5
NotEnoughGolds
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 2,306
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
I believe this is incorrect.
I believe it's correct in terms of fair play - i.e. making sure each player is executing the effect correctly (either Morphing Jar), making sure cards are revealed in a consistent manner (Dark World Dealings), etc.

In terms of game play, the actions are definitely simultaneous.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by impikachuu View Post
Time Seal is Broken.

if you cant see it, then LOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NotEnoughGolds View Post
I don't see it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by videogamezrul View Post
LOL.

/10charjsdflks
NotEnoughGolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:28 PM   #6
LittLeD
OneManShow
 
LittLeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Sweden
Age: 23
Posts: 1,890
iTrader: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
I believe this is incorrect.
No, it's correct. For Card/Hand Destruction, you discard/Send first, then the opponent, then both draws the Appropriate numbers of cards. All actions involved are of course considered simultaneous as far as the game state goes.
__________________
LittLeD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 03:59 PM   #7
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 24
Posts: 36,711
iTrader: 0
Default

For example, there's this Dragged Down into the Grave ruling:

Quote:
The turn player selects a card first for "Dragged Down into the Grave".
This is just for chronological order. The Game State sees both players performing the actions simultaneously, so if both players run out of Cards to draw, the game is a draw.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.