Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2011, 02:19 AM   #1
Xonmešn
Often Overthinks
 
Xonmešn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10,189
iTrader: 0
Default Metaion, the Time Lord vs. Tokens

Quote:
Cannot be Special Summoned from the Deck. If you control no monsters, you can Normal Summon this card without Tributing. This card cannot be destroyed by battle or by card effects. You take no Battle Damage from battles involving this face-up Attack Position card. At the end of the Battle Phase, if this card attacked or was attacked: Return all other monsters on the field to the hand, and inflict 300 damage to your opponent for each card returned. During your Standby Phase: Shuffle this card into the Deck (even if face-down).
How does Metaion's effect handle tokens? Since tokens do not return to the hand does the token disappear? If so, is there any damage dealt for the tokens even though they are not technically "returned?"

Additionally, in the case of Ojama tokens, if the tokens are removed by Metaion's effect do they deal damage?
Xonmešn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:26 AM   #2
aiwotorimodose
( ‾▿‾)
 
aiwotorimodose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: few decades in the future
Posts: 815
iTrader: 0
Default

tokens just disappear, you only count for monster that actually returned to hand.
__________________
aiwotorimodose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 02:26 AM   #3
Martiachan
Kochiya Sanae.
 
Martiachan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 10,000
iTrader: 0
Default

The damage to be dealt requires the monster to successfully return to the hand. This does not apply with Synchro Monsters, Tokens and the like because they don't go to the hand although sent there. So no damage would be dealt when sending back tokens.

You do however send back tokens with Metaion's effect. So they are all removed from the field.

Returning a card to the hand is not the same as destroying. So Ojama Tokens do not inflict any damage when returned to the hand with Metaion's effect.
Martiachan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:26 AM   #4
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 45,476
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Default

The OCG rulings say that Fusion/Synchro/Xyz Monsters count for the damage.

The English text just says "and inflict 300 damage to your opponent for each card returned."

It doesn't exactly conflict with that ruling. 'Returned' could mean any card that is returned to the hand or Extra Deck without specifying the location. 'Returned to the hand' might be a little more specific.

Even though this example doesn't have problem-solving text, we can compare to "Chaos Emperor Dragon - Envoy of the End". The English text says: "Inflict 300 damage to your opponent for each card that is sent to the Graveyard by this effect." A little more specific on location.
__________________
YGOrganization (Number VI)
Hunting Numbers: 86
Redshift's Ruling Quiz 3

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified (not CPR though)
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 08:39 AM   #5
aiwotorimodose
( ‾▿‾)
 
aiwotorimodose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: few decades in the future
Posts: 815
iTrader: 0
Default

ah, I only read the vs plague ruling...
__________________
aiwotorimodose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.