Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Pokémon > Pokémon Ask Our Masters - TCG Rules & Collecting Q's only
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2016, 12:52 AM   #1
DougFunny
Junior Member
 
DougFunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 42
iTrader: 0
DougFunny is on a distinguished road
Default Question about old school Professor Oak and Double colorless Energy

hello, i had two quick questions about old school base set 1 pokemon rules concerning two cards. my information on pokemon tcg is VERY old school and google isnt helping me much.

1: professor oak states 'discard your hand draw 7 cards'. does a hand of 0 cards (as in professor oak was the only card in your hand) count as a hand still? or do you need 1 of any card for it to work?

2: can you attach your limit 1 energy card AND double colorless energy card on the same turn? i recall being told (back then) you can do so since double colorless was not an energy card and could do it up to four times.

thanks in advance for the clarifications.
DougFunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 09:20 AM   #2
Inti
Pojo Veteran
 
Inti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Alabama
Age: 20
Posts: 3,542
iTrader: 0
Inti will become famous soon enough
Default

1. Yes you can use Professor Oak even if your hand is zero

2. No you only attach one energy card per turn unless you have a Rain Dance Blastoise on the field. Double Colorless Energy does count as a energy card and is special energy card.
__________________
Previously known as darkmaster1415.
Inti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 04:16 PM   #3
DougFunny
Junior Member
 
DougFunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 42
iTrader: 0
DougFunny is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Inti View Post
1. Yes you can use Professor Oak even if your hand is zero

2. No you only attach one energy card per turn unless you have a Rain Dance Blastoise on the field. Double Colorless Energy does count as a energy card and is special energy card.
thanks for the answers.

on a side note and for future clarifications on my adventures here, for other cards that require a 'discard your hand' cost, does 0 cards still count as a hand?
DougFunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 05:38 PM   #4
BJJ763
Moderator
 
BJJ763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Warwick, RI
Age: 53
Posts: 5,378
iTrader: 2 (100%)
BJJ763 is on a distinguished road
Default

Usually general rules have exceptions

A 0 card hand is still a hand. If you play a card that "Shuffle your hand into your Deck" and you have 0 cards, you still shuffle your Deck.

Some cards that Discard do state that you have to Discard in order to use the card so a 0 card hand could not play that type of card
__________________
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e136/SA-JtK/gengar01.gif
BJJ763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2016, 07:21 PM   #5
DougFunny
Junior Member
 
DougFunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 42
iTrader: 0
DougFunny is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BJJ763 View Post
Some cards that Discard do state that you have to Discard in order to use the card so a 0 card hand could not play that type of card
gotcha thanks
DougFunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


Pick Up Our New 20th Anniversary Pokemon Book for your Collection!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.