Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Pokémon > Pokémon Ask Our Masters - TCG Rules & Collecting Q's only
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2016, 07:03 AM   #1
RequinBleu
Just Got Here
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 1
iTrader: 0
RequinBleu is on a distinguished road
Default Trainer Interaction -- Hex Maniac and Volcanion EX

I have a question regarding the interaction between Hex Maniac and Volcanion-EX's Steam Up ability--specifically, when the player who plays Hex Maniac is also looking to attack the same turn and have the damage of the attacking Pokemon boosted by Steam Up.

Hex Maniac provides as follows: "Until the end of your opponent's next turn, each Pokémon in play, in each player's hand, and in each player's discard pile has no Abilities. (This includes cards that come into play on that turn.)"

And Volcanion-Ex's Steam Up ability provides as follows: "Once during your turn (before your attack), you may discard a [Fire] Energy card from your hand. If you do, during this turn, your Basic [Fire] Pokémon's attacks do 30 more damage to your opponent's Active Pokémon (before applying Weakness and Resistance)."

Of course, until a player plays Hex Maniac, he can use the abilities of his Pokemon without the abilities being affected. A clear example of this would be Flareon-EX's Flash Fire ability: "Once during your turn (before your attack), you may move a [Fire] Energy from 1 of your Pokémon to this Pokémon." A player could invoke the Flash Fire ability, move a fire energy onto Flareaon-EX, and then play Hex Maniac. If, however, the player had played Hex Maniac before invoking the Flash Fire ability, the player would be precluded from moving the fire energy onto Flareon-EX during the same turn that he had played Hex Maniac.

Returning to the Volcanion-Ex scenario, if a player announces that he is going to use the Steam Up ability that turn and then discards a fire energy from his hand, does that mean that (a) the boost of 30 damage has been set for that turn for all of the player's Basic Fire Pokemon and (b) subsequently playing Hex Maniac during that same turn will not affect application of the Steam Up damage boost for that turn? Or does playing Hex Maniac negate application of the Steam Up damage boost because the playing of the card precedes the attack by the Active Pokemon that looks to take advantage of the Steam Up damage boost?

Sorry for the length of the post, and many thanks for your help with this question!
RequinBleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2016, 08:42 PM   #2
BJJ763
Moderator
 
BJJ763's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Warwick, RI
Age: 53
Posts: 5,378
iTrader: 2 (100%)
BJJ763 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hex Maniac prevents the use of Abilities, not Abilities that have already taken effect.
__________________
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e136/SA-JtK/gengar01.gif
BJJ763 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 08:34 AM   #3
PokePop
Moderator
 
PokePop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Age: 54
Posts: 3,992
iTrader: 3 (100%)
PokePop is on a distinguished road
Default

It doesn't remove the effect of Abilities that have already been used.
__________________
Official Pokemon TCG Rulings
Pokemon TCG Rules Team Member

The PokeGym
PokePop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


Pick Up Our New 20th Anniversary Pokemon Book for your Collection!


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.