Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2013, 04:29 PM   #1
Shadow_Flare
Pojo Veteran
 
Shadow_Flare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Age: 22
Posts: 791
iTrader: 0
Shadow_Flare is on a distinguished road
Default About Jewel Flare Dragon Stardust

Let's say for example: I control 2 Jewel Flare Dragon Stardust. Then my opponent uses say Tribute to The Doomed, targeting 1 of my Jewel Flares. I chain that Jewel Flare's effect to target itself, but then my opponent activates Offerings to the Doomed, targeting the same Stardust. So I use the 2nd Jewel Flare's effect, targeting the 1st one.

So when the chain resolves backwards it would mean that. 1st, the 2nd Jewel Flare's effect resolves, followed by Offerings failing to destroy the 1st Jewel Flare, then followed by the 1st Jewel Flare's effect resolving on itself, ending with Tribute to The Doomed destroying the monster.

My question is: Will Tribute destroy the 1st Jewel Flare, or will the 1st Jewel Flare's protection kick in? Sorry if this might sound like an obvious answer but I'm a little confused here.

My confusion is what will happen if the 2 Jewel Flares activate their effects and target the same card. Will it stack up to two times, or will it only be once?
Shadow_Flare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:37 PM   #2
NeoZenithX
:B
 
NeoZenithX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 9,372
iTrader: 43 (100%)
NeoZenithX is on a distinguished road
Default

2nd resolves, protecting the 1st. 1st resolves, protecting itself.
__________________

Trade List | eBay Sales
NeoZenithX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:45 PM   #3
Shadow_Flare
Pojo Veteran
 
Shadow_Flare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Age: 22
Posts: 791
iTrader: 0
Shadow_Flare is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
2nd resolves, protecting the 1st. 1st resolves, protecting itself.
All right thanks. I assume the same is true if let's say I control a face-up Spell/Trap? Opponent plays MST, I use the 1st's eff, opp chains with another MST, I chain with 2nd's eff?

Edit: And what about the 2nd question? If let's say nothing's going on and I just decided for some reason to use the 2 effs on the same card. Will it stack up, or will the protection only happen once?
Shadow_Flare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 05:00 PM   #4
NeoZenithX
:B
 
NeoZenithX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 9,372
iTrader: 43 (100%)
NeoZenithX is on a distinguished road
Default

The two effects are separate, so they will stack.

Yes, the same scenario would occur with a face-up Spell/Trap.
__________________

Trade List | eBay Sales
NeoZenithX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 05:40 PM   #5
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,636
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NeoZenithX View Post
The two effects are separate, so they will stack.
This is not true. See Legendary Ebon Steed protection rulings.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadow_Flare View Post
So when the chain resolves backwards it would mean that. 1st, the 2nd Jewel Flare's effect resolves, followed by Offerings failing to destroy the 1st Jewel Flare, then followed by the 1st Jewel Flare's effect resolving on itself, ending with Tribute to The Doomed destroying the monster.
This is not the correct way to resolve the chain.

Build the Chain:
CL1: Tribute to The Doomed
CL2: 1st Manga Stardust effect
CL3: Offerings to the Doomed
CL4: 2nd Manga Stardust effect

Resolve:
CL4: 2nd Manga Stardust effect places protection
CL3: Offerings to the Doomed resolves but 2nd Manga Stardust effect's protection is applied instead of destruction
CL2: 1st Manga Stardust effect places protection
CL1: Tribute to The Doomed resolves but 1st Manga Stardust effect's protection is applied instead of destruction

If you use multiple mandatory destruction protection effects on the same target, they will not stack. So if you use 2 Manga Stardusts on the same target, it will only protect that target once.

Quote:
If multiple copies of "Legendary Ebon Steed" are equipped to the same "Six Samurai" monster and that monster would be destroyed, all of the "Legendary Ebon Steeds" are destroyed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazriel View Post
set that man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nintenderek View Post
The only problem I've having with it is that I'm throwing money at the screen and it's not arriving any sooner.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.