Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2012, 03:43 AM   #1
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,901
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default Wikipedia Conundrum

Problem:Contradiction

Vampire Lord:Also, if this card is destroyed and sent to your Graveyard by your opponent's card effect, it is Special Summoned to your side of the field during your next Standby Phase.

Elemental Hero Darkbright:If this card is destroyed, destroy 1 monster your opponent controls.


Wikia rulings:

Vampire Lord:If "Vampire Lord" is destroyed while equipped to "Relinquished", he won't be Special Summoned, no matter who controls him or who destroyed him.


Elemental Hero Darkbright:This effect will activate if this card is destroyed while it is being treated as a Spell Card (by "Relinquished", etc.).


2 possibilities:

1.Just a goof mistake
2.BKKS

Just wanted to know who knew what was going on here, and whether or not Vampire Lord's ruling should be applied.
The Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:48 AM   #2
poemi
Let's にゃー!
 
poemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: 6°10′41.90″S 106°37′54.80″E
Posts: 2,071
iTrader: 0
poemi is on a distinguished road
Default

Maybe it tells that vampire won't be triggered when the Relinquished that equipped it got destroyed. Because vampire was destroyed by game mechanic instead of card effect.

else bkss
poemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:03 AM   #3
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,781
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Also, if this card is destroyed and sent from your field to your Graveyard by your opponent's card effect, it is Special Summoned to your side of the field during your next Standby Phase.

Bolded the important parts:

Quote:
The effect only activates and starts a chain when the original owner controls it. It does not activate when the opponent controls it.
Elemental Hero Darkbright doesn't care who controls it nor which graveyard it goes to. Heck it will work even if it didn't go to the graveyard.

Additional Comment:

Forgot Vampire Lord was errata'd... I miss when it worked vs Crush card. >.<

Additional Comment:

Damn misread the situation ignore my post. =/ Stupid UDE ruling.

Last edited by Unities : 04-16-2012 at 06:03 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:18 AM   #4
catking5
Who ya gonna call?
 
catking5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2,013
iTrader: 0
catking5 is on a distinguished road
Default

You've got to control Vampire Lord when it is destroyed by opponent's card effect. Scrap Dragon does this also.
__________________
Magic Stats:
Nothing Important Yet (Below Average on MTGO)

Note: I only play MTGO and Cockatrice. Saves money and I can play more often.
catking5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:20 AM   #5
IonCharge
Duelist Nonpareil
 
IonCharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Brothels of the Dark World
Posts: 8,867
iTrader: 14 (100%)
IonCharge is on a distinguished road
Default

Just also going to say: same card text =/= same rulings.
__________________
"gg that was easy"
My: Videos Your: Mouse clicks
A summary of Pojo in banlist season.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinTewart View Post
Activate your tactical effect.
For the Sea Emperor!
Grapha Ninja Count: III
~2012 WCQ Regional Top 8~
~2013 WCQ Regional Top 8~
~2013 UK Nationals Top 32~
Pewsily: I Ion: 0
If you're in the UK and have a No. 11 Big Eye you want to sell, hmu myeah
IonCharge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:13 AM   #6
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,356
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IonCharge View Post
Just also going to say: same card text =/= same rulings.
That's the way they should be, however. Anything else is BKSS, assuming the text is indeed identical. The text of "Vampire Lord" has a major difference from that of "Elemental HERO Darkbright" that others have pointed out. The rulings are correct and the text agrees with it.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:21 PM   #7
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,781
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
The rulings are correct and the text agrees with it.
opponent using MST/Heavy Storm on Vampire Lord disagrees with the ruling. <.<

IE he controls your Vampire Lord via E-Con then you use your Relinquish to absorb him you are in control of both relinquish and your own Vampire Lord. But the ruling says that even if MST/Heavy Storm from the opponent will not trigger Vampire Lord's effect in this case. >.<

Last edited by Unities : 04-16-2012 at 04:24 PM.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:25 PM   #8
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,356
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
opponent using MST/Heavy Storm on Vampire Lord disagrees with the ruling. <.<

IE he controls your Vampire Lord via E-Con then you use your Relinquish to absorb him you are in control of both relinquish and your own Vampire Lord. But the ruling says that even if MST/Heavy Storm from the opponent will not trigger Vampire Lord's effect in this cast. >.<
The ruling probably isn't considering that kind of far-fetched scenario. The way I see it, it's just a precursor to the "Scrap Dragon" ruling.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:29 PM   #9
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,901
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
opponent using MST/Heavy Storm on Vampire Lord disagrees with the ruling. <.<

IE he controls your Vampire Lord via E-Con then you use your Relinquish to absorb him you are in control of both relinquish and your own Vampire Lord. But the ruling says that even if MST/Heavy Storm from the opponent will not trigger Vampire Lord's effect in this case. >.<
Edit: Dam Konami
The Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:37 PM   #10
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,781
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chief View Post
Edit: Dam Konami
You mean UDE it wasn't Konami that made this ruling. XD

Additional Comment:

@Redshift:
Monster Reborn'ing an opponent's Vampire Lord isn't far-fetched...

Last edited by Unities : 04-16-2012 at 04:37 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:39 PM   #11
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,356
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
@Redshift:
Monster Reborn'ing an opponent's Vampire Lord isn't far-fetched...
I was referring to the nonsense about having your "Vampire Lord" stolen with "Enemy Controller" and then stealing it back with "Relinquished".

I don't even know where "Monster Reborn" came from.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 04:51 PM   #12
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,781
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Opponent monster reborns your Vampire Lord is much more common than E-Con and leads to the same situation. =P

Additional Comment:

I have had quite a few of these situation happen during the Dark Crisis release... My cousin had both Relinquished and Vampire Lord. And he used them against me quite a bit. =(

Last edited by Unities : 04-16-2012 at 04:52 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 05:03 PM   #13
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,356
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Well the text and rulings are pretty clear. It has to be on your side of the field and go to your Graveyard, when destroyed by an opponent's card effect. I don't see any rulings that contradict that.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:52 PM   #14
Unities
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5,781
iTrader: 0
Unities is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Chief View Post
Wikia rulings:

Vampire Lord:If "Vampire Lord" is destroyed while equipped to "Relinquished", he won't be Special Summoned, no matter who controls him or who destroyed him.
This ruling prevents contradicts the text. If going by the text in the situation where I control and own both Relinquished and the equipped Vampire Lord, I should be able to activate Vampire Lord's effect when he is destroyed my an opponent's MST but this UDE ruling tells me otherwise.
Unities is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 06:54 PM   #15
The Chief
Pojo Veteran
 
The Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,901
iTrader: 0
The Chief is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
This ruling prevents contradicts the text. If going by the text in the situation where I control and own both Relinquished and the equipped Vampire Lord, I should be able to activate Vampire Lord's effect when he is destroyed my an opponent's MST but this UDE ruling tells me otherwise.
Oh yea! I didn't catch that subtlety. Yea that ruling makes no sense imo.
The Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2012, 07:29 PM   #16
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,356
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the roughRedshift is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unities View Post
This ruling prevents contradicts the text. If going by the text in the situation where I control and own both Relinquished and the equipped Vampire Lord, I should be able to activate Vampire Lord's effect when he is destroyed my an opponent's MST but this UDE ruling tells me otherwise.
You can. I already explained what the ruling was most likely trying to address.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.