Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-13-2011, 12:27 PM   #1
Gypsydonny
Pojo Veteran
 
Gypsydonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stockton, Ca
Posts: 931
iTrader: 30 (100%)
Gypsydonny is on a distinguished road
Default Stardust Dragon + Starlight Road

My buddy says, if you Special Summon Stardust with Starlight Road you can only use Stardust Negate effect once and he doesn't come back from the grave, cause he wasn't Synchro'd summon. Is this true?

Also

Player A Summons Zombie Master
Player B Activate Solemn Judgment

Can I special summon Zombie Master from the grave?
__________________
Trades

Last edited by Gypsydonny : 03-13-2011 at 12:29 PM.
Gypsydonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:29 PM   #2
Sup3rNo7a
Black Rose Dragon!
 
Sup3rNo7a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Black Rose's Sacred Garden
Posts: 1,414
iTrader: 0
Sup3rNo7a is on a distinguished road
Default

1) That is correct.
2) Yes, you can.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nicker Ridders View Post
You could have put Sangan on the field, moved it around a few zones and made it dance. If something negates his summon, then like the Men in Black, he was never there.

Last edited by Sup3rNo7a : 03-13-2011 at 12:32 PM.
Sup3rNo7a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:29 PM   #3
swiftstratos
The Tick
 
swiftstratos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 910
iTrader: 0
swiftstratos is on a distinguished road
Default

It is true.
It must have been properly summoned (In this case, synchro summoned) to be special summoned at all.
__________________
swiftstratos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:29 PM   #4
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gypsydonny View Post
My buddy says, if you Special Summon Stardust with Starlight Road you can only use Stardust Negate effect once and he doesn't come back from the grave, cause he wasn't Synchro'd summon. Is this true?
It's correct, it's basic gameplay mechanics for all synchros (among other things), it has been asked extensively in the past, and you could have found it with the search function.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 12:32 PM   #5
Gypsydonny
Pojo Veteran
 
Gypsydonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Stockton, Ca
Posts: 931
iTrader: 30 (100%)
Gypsydonny is on a distinguished road
Default

Awesome thanks for the quick responses!
__________________
Trades
Gypsydonny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 01:01 PM   #6
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

if a monster wasn't properly special summoned via ritual, fusion, synchro, inherent, then it cannot be revived at all.
__________________
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 01:32 PM   #7
MATT001
Pojo Veteran
 
MATT001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 2,932
iTrader: 0
MATT001 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xSHiNOx View Post
if a monster wasn't properly special summoned via ritual, fusion, synchro, inherent, then it cannot be revived at all.
That's true if, and only if, we're talking about Ritual, Fusion, Synchro and Special-Summon-only-by monsters. My Normal Summoned Cyber Dragon can be revived just fine.
__________________
A cracking read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LittLeD View Post
Thank you for saving the thread MATT, I was ready to tear my eye balls out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
I'm pretty sure that 2500 + 500 is 3000, not 2500, but I don't have a calculator on me to make sure.
MATT001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:05 PM   #8
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT001 View Post
That's true if, and only if, we're talking about Ritual, Fusion, Synchro and Special-Summon-only-by monsters. My Normal Summoned Cyber Dragon can be revived just fine.
Just as my Foolish Burial'd Archlord Kristya can be Monster Reborn'd
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:13 PM   #9
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MATT001 View Post
That's true if, and only if, we're talking about Ritual, Fusion, Synchro and Special-Summon-only-by monsters. My Normal Summoned Cyber Dragon can be revived just fine.
no one said your Cyber Dragon can't be revived

-_-
__________________
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:15 PM   #10
perzeus
Kaizoku-Gari
 
perzeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Shinsekai, Grand Line
Age: 29
Posts: 10,691
iTrader: 0
perzeus is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xSHiNOx View Post
no one said your Cyber Dragon can't be revived

-_-
Your response was vague enough for a misinformed player to assume that non-"Special Summon-only" monsters had to be properly summoned beforehand in order for them to be special summoned from the grave or RFG.
__________________
El cazador de piratas

It's all about perception

La prioridad en detalle: http://expertforum.info/wordpress/?p=2978
perzeus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2011, 02:27 PM   #11
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

every time i explain something, someone just has to twist it around huh? there are some inherent special summon monsters that can't be revived if they were not properly special summoned. Cyber Dragon is not one of them.

take Dark Necrofear for example, you can't special summon it from the graveyard if it's in there because it was never properly special summoned via its effect of removing 3 fiends.

here, learn about it more to anyone that wants to know;

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Special...-only_monsters
http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/List_of...-only_monsters
__________________

Last edited by xSHiNOx : 03-13-2011 at 02:30 PM.
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:35 AM   #12
Siernan
Pojo Veteran
 
Siernan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 601
iTrader: 0
Siernan is on a distinguished road
Default

The issue here, of course, was that you didn't say special-summon-only monsters, but inherent special summons.

Cyber Dragon/Archlord Krystia/Whatever have the ability to be inherently special summoned just as much as special summon only monsters like Chaos Sorcerer/Dark Necrofear/Whatever.
__________________
Yugitube! - ShortCircuit371
Siernan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:56 AM   #13
megacloud
Pojo Veteran
 
megacloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: On a boat
Age: 24
Posts: 739
iTrader: 0
megacloud is on a distinguished road
Default

Everything above is true however cards that say this card cannot be special summoned EXCEPT by... cannot never be special summoned from the grave.
__________________
megacloud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 02:35 AM   #14
illusionX
Beta Tester!
 
illusionX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: killeen, texas
Posts: 6,719
iTrader: 23 (100%)
illusionX is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by megacloud View Post
Everything above is true however cards that say this card cannot be special summoned EXCEPT by... cannot never be special summoned from the grave.
...except when they can .
__________________
"With each kill, I grow wiser; with added wisdom, I grow stronger..."-Artemis Entreri

Quote:
Read the rulebook. Read the rulings. Read the sticky "Rulings FAQ: PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING!" Use the search function. If you ask a question without doing so, you are an idiot and will be treated as such.
illusionX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 03:59 AM   #15
DragonXDoom
Magic Misuser
 
DragonXDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,595
iTrader: 0
DragonXDoom is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by megacloud View Post
Everything above is true however cards that say this card cannot be special summoned EXCEPT by... cannot never be special summoned from the grave.
Double-negative as well.
__________________
I happen to be RC-1 certified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corpse View Post
DragonXDoom is correct in all accounts.
My current deck: Looking for a new one.
DragonXDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:15 PM   #16
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Siernan View Post
The issue here, of course, was that you didn't say special-summon-only monsters, but inherent special summons.

Cyber Dragon/Archlord Krystia/Whatever have the ability to be inherently special summoned just as much as special summon only monsters like Chaos Sorcerer/Dark Necrofear/Whatever.
already said it after someone had to mess up what i said earlier.
-_-

seriously, you get a kick out of adding more info/twisting around info i provide huh?
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:17 PM   #17
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,792
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xSHiNOx View Post
already said it after someone had to mess up what i said earlier.
-_-

seriously, you get a kick out of adding more info/twisting around info i provide huh?
He doesn't. That's Skully's job. But if you had posted accurately, we would not be having this discussion, now would we?
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:45 PM   #18
xSHiNOx
DMG ♥
 
xSHiNOx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,197
iTrader: 0
xSHiNOx is on a distinguished road
Default

i did post accurately. just didn't add enough information. didn't think anyone would ***** about it though >_>
not like every single one of you will use those "special summon only" monsters
xSHiNOx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 01:59 PM   #19
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,792
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xSHiNOx View Post
i did post accurately. just didn't add enough information. didn't think anyone would ***** about it though >_>
not like every single one of you will use those "special summon only" monsters
When posting in these forums, anyone who doesn't post accurately, or without enough information will be corrected. Doesn't matter whom. I don't understand your second sentence.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 03:39 PM   #20
jamiep151
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: England, Brighton&Hove
Posts: 1,179
iTrader: 1 (100%)
jamiep151 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xSHiNOx View Post
i did post accurately. just didn't add enough information. didn't think anyone would ***** about it though >_>
not like every single one of you will use those "special summon only" monsters
Check other threads in this section, posts with inadequate information are corrected (has been done to me a few times). It isn't a dig at the poster it is just important with rulings that people cannot misinterpret what is said as it could lead to them giving wrong information to other. Also it could be a long time before they are corrected and may play incorrectly until then.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tcwalter View Post
One of my nervous habits is punching my opponent when they summon JD. I just can't help myself.
lol
jamiep151 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.