Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2010, 08:19 PM   #1
ddude183
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 633
iTrader: 0
ddude183 is on a distinguished road
Default 0 Atk Monsters

I couldn't find this anywhere so I guess I will ask it here.

If a 0 atk monster attacks another 0 atk monster in attack mode do both monsters die?

Can a 0 atk monster even declare an attack ( say if the player wanted to suicide it?)
ddude183 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:22 PM   #2
Eating_a_Cookie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 160
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Eating_a_Cookie is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes , Unless the monster is something like Cyber Valley which ends the battle phase
Yes
Eating_a_Cookie is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:48 PM   #3
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

0 ATK monsters can't kill anything
http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/genme...topic=52309741
Some reference.
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:51 PM   #4
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,160
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomRider View Post
0 ATK monsters can't kill anything
http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/genme...topic=52309741
Some reference.
In the OCG, if a 0 ATK monster attacks a 0 ATK Attack Position monster, nothing is destroyed. In the TCG, both are destroyed.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:53 PM   #5
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Depends on where you are playing the game. In the TCG, the basic rulebook says if two monsters attacks are equal, they both die.

In the OCG, this is not the case.

Enjoy the game
D1Case is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 08:59 PM   #6
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,977
iTrader: 0
ness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Oh my, a GameFAQs thread quoting an e-mail from the old Konami e-mail address for rulings is taken as the ultimate truth.

Is this enough proof that we need the Judge forum back for official answers?
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:12 PM   #7
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

The link people, the link. It says this incase your finger is ignorant to click.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Konami (Indirectly)
Date: Wed, 18 Nov 2009 16:44:38 -0800 [11/18/2009 07:44:38 PM EST]
From: US Card Support <us-cardsupport@konami.com>Add us-cardsupport@konami.com to my Address Book
To:
Subject: RE: Ruling Question: Battle vs Monsters w/ 0 ATK.
Headers: Show All Headers
Multipart/alternative
Alternative parts for this section: Help
unnamed [text/plain] 1.02 KB Download

HTML Click HERE to view HTML content in a separate window.


A monster with 0 ATK cannot destroy anything by battle.



From:
Sent: Thursday, November 05, 2009 3:51 PM
To: us-cardsupport@konami.com
Subject: Ruling Question: Battle vs Monsters w/ 0 ATK.



According to OCG Rulings, When a monster with 0 ATK battles a monster with 0 ATK, neither monster gets destroyed as technically no battle damage can really be done with no attack power to do so.

My question is: Does this hold true to the TCG version of the rulings?

The US Rulebooks only state when monster attacks are equal, both monsters are destroyed, but none go into detail in regards to this scenario with 0 ATK. Many of the DS Championship Yugioh games follow OCG rulings, so many understand that they do not get destroyed, but also aren't sure how this holds up when playing the actual card game in real life.

If you can answer this question, It would be greatly appreciated and could stop an argument about it.
Why would it be different in TCG?!
No more Reptilianne Naga killing 0 atk stuff pl0x.
There may be something clearer and more reliable somewhere but if you want to check for yourself, email them yourself, if you want defy the rules, play elsewhere.
[/argument]
[/applaud]
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:35 PM   #8
Vice
People's Person
 
Vice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago
Age: 26
Posts: 4,684
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Vice is on a distinguished road
Default

Questioned answered by UScard support is not 100% correct. Those are answered by Customer service not the R&D team

Official answers come from us-ygorules@konami.com which it the public email for the Yugioh R&D team.
Vice is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:40 PM   #9
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

Are you gonna try them? This evidence is the best thing to go on so far, as then it agrees with the OCG... and me.. but that's not too important. Im' here to learn.
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:53 PM   #10
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Evidence?.... In the TCG, the basic rulebook says two equal attack monsters will destroy each other. And that is how it is ruled in the TCG.

Enjoy the game
D1Case is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 09:57 PM   #11
zapper123
Dark World Pwnage
 
zapper123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 888
iTrader: 0
zapper123 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vice View Post
Questioned answered by UScard support is not 100% correct. Those are answered by Customer service not the R&D team

Official answers come from us-ygorules@konami.com which it the public email for the Yugioh R&D team.
as he says they mite be mistaken, i trust ness, he is always correct.
zapper123 is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:00 PM   #12
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

I understand it says that, but to differ from the OCG on such a topic would be bizarre but to not update the rulebook may suggest a fork in the rules road. I'll happily adhere to whichever is correct for the TCG, I just would prefer if it was checked.

Could anyone find out what it is like in a console game? Whether it differs from Japanese games to US games. I accept that not everything in a game is totally reliable and correct.
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:05 PM   #13
Vice
People's Person
 
Vice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago
Age: 26
Posts: 4,684
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Vice is on a distinguished road
Default

In the Duel Terminals when 2 zero attack monsters attack none of them die. This is because the machines run on Japanese programing. So the game runs on OCG rules.

We follow the TCG Rule book which states that they both Die. Until the email from KDE is publicly released in a rule book and revised we go by what is currently in the most current version of the rule book
Vice is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 10:13 PM   #14
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

So no to the emailing?
While the evidence is stacked against mine preference on rulings, and I like a challenge I still can't understand why they would let 0 atk monsters to both be destroyed as neither have any attack power to inflict battle damage, so battle damage to one and other should also be zero. It seems silly, if someone was to activate Waboku to reduce the battle damage to their monsters to 0 to not have their monster destroyed.. Well lol?
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:44 AM   #15
guidolheat
Pojo Veteran
 
guidolheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4,876
iTrader: 0
guidolheat is on a distinguished road
Default

I just sent an email, ima wait for the response, could take a while...
guidolheat is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:52 AM   #16
Elliot Gale
8Dude
 
Elliot Gale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The MGA with an Attitude
Age: 25
Posts: 23,248
iTrader: 53 (100%)
Elliot Gale will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomRider View Post
So no to the emailing?
While the evidence is stacked against mine preference on rulings, and I like a challenge I still can't understand why they would let 0 atk monsters to both be destroyed as neither have any attack power to inflict battle damage, so battle damage to one and other should also be zero. It seems silly, if someone was to activate Waboku to reduce the battle damage to their monsters to 0 to not have their monster destroyed.. Well lol?
Well, Waboku doesn't refer to battle damage being inflicted to monsters.

The 0 atk vs. 0 atk deviation from the OCG has been around basically since the dawn of the game. I would figure they haven't bothered to change it because it hasn't been incredibly relevant.

It's possible that they'll change this in the future. SDWS let us start siding fusions and synchros like the OCG has been since TDGS.
__________________
On a quest. Also, Smash and whatnot: 3497-0037-6962
Elliot Gale is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 03:19 AM   #17
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

Charm of Shabti would be the sort of example im looking for then.
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 04:31 AM   #18
Nomad_Skies
Feathered Valiant
 
Nomad_Skies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The Canadian West Format: Format? I have no format. I am a Renegade, lost in the net.
Age: 27
Posts: 6,794
iTrader: 0
Nomad_Skies is on a distinguished road
Default

Much like Wabaku, that's an old card with old text that mistakenly suggests that monsters take battle damage themselves, which they do not.

Edit - Instead of beating off a dead Mezuki by repeating everything that's already been said, I'm just gonna leave this thread here.
__________________
~ Stay true to your nomad skies...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ojama16 View Post
Welcome to Pojo.com Forums. Please leave all morals, common sense, and the knowledge of a search button at the door.

Last edited by Nomad_Skies : 02-26-2010 at 04:36 AM.
Nomad_Skies is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 11:41 AM   #19
PhantomRider
Registered User
 
PhantomRider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Different Dimension
Age: 23
Posts: 72
iTrader: 0
PhantomRider is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad_Skies View Post
Much like Wabaku, that's an old card with old text that mistakenly suggests that monsters take battle damage themselves, which they do not.

Edit - Instead of beating off a dead Mezuki by repeating everything that's already been said, I'm just gonna leave this thread here.
Mezuki.. Nicely done.

First thing said in Waboku rulings:
"Waboku" makes Battle Damage dealt by your opponent's monsters to your monsters and to your Life Points become zero.
Suggesting that battle damage is inflicted to monsters and any remaining attack power is inflicted to life points. Similar to the mechanics of Magic.

Even so, it does not say in the official rulebook yet specifically that 0 ATK monsters can destroy other 0 ATK attack position monsters by battle, so until updated (if necessary and if at all), I too shall play as the TCG rulebook leads us to believe.
I told my Reptilianne using friend today about there being nothing officially said in the TCG about the matter so he could use Reptillianne Naga to kill 0 ATK monsters in attack position. He enjoyed doing so.
PhantomRider is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:21 PM   #20
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,824
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomRider View Post
Mezuki.. Nicely done.

First thing said in Waboku rulings:
"Waboku" makes Battle Damage dealt by your opponent's monsters to your monsters and to your Life Points become zero.
Suggesting that battle damage is inflicted to monsters and any remaining attack power is inflicted to life points. Similar to the mechanics of Magic.

Even so, it does not say in the official rulebook yet specifically that 0 ATK monsters can destroy other 0 ATK attack position monsters by battle, so until updated (if necessary and if at all), I too shall play as the TCG rulebook leads us to believe.
I told my Reptilianne using friend today about there being nothing officially said in the TCG about the matter so he could use Reptillianne Naga to kill 0 ATK monsters in attack position. He enjoyed doing so.
The 0 attack question has been asked numerous times before. It was already officially answered by Curtis. In the TCG they destroy each other. Officially.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 12:59 PM   #21
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,977
iTrader: 0
ness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura aboutness00 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
The 0 attack question has been asked numerous times before. It was already officially answered by Curtis. In the TCG they destroy each other. Officially.
And more recently, by Frank, who is lurking at Konami. The answer is still the same.

Which reminds me, I should probably try finding a Machina Mayhem Rulebook in case they decided to modify like 4-5 mechanics without us noticing it >_>
__________________
ness00 is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 01:03 PM   #22
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,824
iTrader: 114 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
And more recently, by Frank, who is lurking at Konami. The answer is still the same.

Which reminds me, I should probably try finding a Machina Mayhem Rulebook in case they decided to modify like 4-5 mechanics without us noticing it >_>
ugh you're right. Konami would do that to us...>.<
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:32 AM   #23
topspin1617
Disappear
 
topspin1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 6,419
iTrader: 5 (100%)
topspin1617 is on a distinguished road
Default

I know this thread was old, but I have the same exact question now.

Is it still true that 0 ATK monsters destroy each other in the TCG? The Wikia says no, but unless they have changed the mechanic here, it seems like they should.
__________________
Hold on, like you don't remember me
Underneath everything I guess I always dreamed
That I would be the one to take you away
From all this wasted pain
But I can't save you from yourself

Read my blog and comment!
topspin1617 is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:37 AM   #24
Redshift
Pojiwadai Elite 4
 
Redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 46,160
iTrader: 105 (100%)
Redshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura aboutRedshift has a spectacular aura about
Default

Read the latest rulebook please. They have one posted on Konami's site. And don't necrobump threads.
__________________
● Number VI of the YGOrganization
Hunting Numbers: 88

RC-1, RC-2 & PC-1 Certified
3DS Friend Code: 2208 5236 3793
Redshift is offline  
Old 08-05-2011, 09:44 AM   #25
topspin1617
Disappear
 
topspin1617's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 26
Posts: 6,419
iTrader: 5 (100%)
topspin1617 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redshift View Post
Read the latest rulebook please. They have one posted on Konami's site. And don't necrobump threads.
Sorry for necrobumping... I just didn't know whether to bump or start a new thread.

And I am reading the rulebook, and I draw the conclusion that they destroy each other. Well... not really drawing a conclusion, that's exactly what the book says.

I was asking because I'm arguing with about 10 people who say that they are not destroyed.

EDIT: Okay... I see it at the very end of the rulebook. Sorry.
__________________
Hold on, like you don't remember me
Underneath everything I guess I always dreamed
That I would be the one to take you away
From all this wasted pain
But I can't save you from yourself

Read my blog and comment!

Last edited by topspin1617 : 08-05-2011 at 09:46 AM.
topspin1617 is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.