Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2009, 10:32 AM   #1
Twilight Archfiend
Back in Game.
 
Twilight Archfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Czech Republic (Europe)
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: 18 (100%)
Twilight Archfiend is on a distinguished road
Default Book of Moon vs. Summon Monk

Can Book of Moon stop the effect of Summon Monk ?
__________________
Trade list come take a look!
Twilight Archfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:34 AM   #2
Sharpie-ova
Registered User
 
Sharpie-ova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 276
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Sharpie-ova is on a distinguished road
Default

Nope. You must negate the effect of Summon Monk once its activated. Flipping it face-down will not stop the effect.
Sharpie-ova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:38 AM   #3
Twilight Archfiend
Back in Game.
 
Twilight Archfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Czech Republic (Europe)
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: 18 (100%)
Twilight Archfiend is on a distinguished road
Default

Are you sure ? My Judges told me it will stop
__________________
Trade list come take a look!
Twilight Archfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:42 AM   #4
Sharpie-ova
Registered User
 
Sharpie-ova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 276
iTrader: 1 (100%)
Sharpie-ova is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight Archfiend View Post
Are you sure ? My Judges told me it will stop
I am sure. Summoner Monk's text says nothing about it needing to remain face-up.

Once the effect is activated, you must negate it to prevent it from resolving. Book Of Moon does not negate anything.

Your judge is wrong.

However, there is one scenario that BoM might stop Monk:

When Monk is initially summoned, its effect to switch to defense activate. You can then chain BoM to flip it face-down and the player won't be able to use Monk's special summon effect since Spell Speed 1 can't chain to Spell Speed 2.

Last edited by Sharpie-ova : 05-01-2009 at 10:44 AM.
Sharpie-ova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 10:42 AM   #5
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

Most ignition effects will resolve once activated, no matter what happens to the card. There are some exceptions, like Zombie Master and (sort-of) Lyla, but Summoner Monk is not one of them.

The card effect will resolve.
Enjoy
D1Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2009, 01:36 PM   #6
Twilight Archfiend
Back in Game.
 
Twilight Archfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Czech Republic (Europe)
Posts: 1,328
iTrader: 18 (100%)
Twilight Archfiend is on a distinguished road
Default

OK, i get it now Thank you guys
__________________
Trade list come take a look!
Twilight Archfiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 04:04 PM   #7
yoshi master
Pojo Veteran
 
yoshi master's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: ptc
Age: 21
Posts: 721
iTrader: 7 (89%)
yoshi master is on a distinguished road
Default

well i thought it would stop it because sommener monk doesnt target?
yoshi master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 04:48 PM   #8
D1Case
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 2,633
iTrader: 0
D1Case is on a distinguished road
Default

EH Stratos doesn't target either. Still, if you summon him, activate his effect, and your opponent plays Book of Moon; Book of Moon will resolve first, but you can still resolve Stratos's effect.

Most ignition effects will resolve once activated, no matter what happens to the card.

Enjoy
D1Case is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:22 PM   #9
Ricardo(teamprostar)
The Flash
 
Ricardo(teamprostar)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Jose California
Age: 28
Posts: 547
iTrader: 0
Ricardo(teamprostar) is on a distinguished road
Default

Summoners Monk will not work. It is like trying to break something with breaker when your opponent books it. Monk doesn't have priority to use its effect because he has to go to face up defense first. It like if your opponent summons snipe but there is stumbaling?? face up.

It will not stop it if you let him activate the effect.
__________________
Ricardo"The Flash"Rangel
Top 8 SJC Long Beach 06 (12 Gauge)
Top 16 SJC Aneheim 07 (Decree Gadgets)
Top 16 SJC San Francisco 08 (Tele-Dad)
Top 8 SJC Houston 09 (Tele-Dad)
Top 8 SJC Aneheim 09 (Tele-Monk)
19 Regional Tops
Ricardo(teamprostar) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:25 PM   #10
ThaibaCo
Judge
 
ThaibaCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,155
iTrader: 34 (97%)
ThaibaCo is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricardo(teamprostar) View Post
Summoners Monk will not work. It is like trying to break something with breaker when your opponent books it. Monk doesn't have priority to use its effect because he has to go to face up defense first. It like if your opponent summons snipe but there is stumbaling?? face up.

It will not stop it if you let him activate the effect.
The correct answer has already been given. Please read the OP's question again. Flipping Summoner Monk face down will not stop his effect.
__________________
ThaibaCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:29 PM   #11
Ricardo(teamprostar)
The Flash
 
Ricardo(teamprostar)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Jose California
Age: 28
Posts: 547
iTrader: 0
Ricardo(teamprostar) is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaibaco View Post
The correct answer has already been given. Please read the OP's question again. Flipping Summoner Monk face down will not stop his effect.
Thats what I said I just added that book can stop it if you just summon it and it gets booked. I wrote the answer backwards by bad
__________________
Ricardo"The Flash"Rangel
Top 8 SJC Long Beach 06 (12 Gauge)
Top 16 SJC Aneheim 07 (Decree Gadgets)
Top 16 SJC San Francisco 08 (Tele-Dad)
Top 8 SJC Houston 09 (Tele-Dad)
Top 8 SJC Aneheim 09 (Tele-Monk)
19 Regional Tops
Ricardo(teamprostar) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:46 PM   #12
SuperJay
FX artist vet
 
SuperJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Age: 33
Posts: 1,719
iTrader: 9 (100%)
SuperJay is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thaibaco View Post
The correct answer has already been given. Please read the OP's question again. Flipping Summoner Monk face down will not stop his effect.
"Can Book of Moon stop the effect of Summon Monk ?"

Read closely.

Summoner Monk has THREE effects.
OP didn't specify which he's talking about.

Effect #1, Continuous, "This card cannot be Tributed."
That can be stopped by book of moon.
A face down summoner monk can be tributed for CCV or for a tribute summon.

Effect #2, Trigger, "When this card is Normal or Flip Summoned, it is changed to Defense Position."
That can also be "stopped" by book too.
This effect will suck up turn player priority when Monk is normal/flip summoned, like Breaker's Trigger effect. So before the controller can use Monk's 3rd effect, the opponent gets a chance to respond to Monk's summon or to Monk's 2nd effect. If Monk is flipped face down at this stage, the controller cannot use Monk's 3rd effect.

Effect #3, Ignition (with a condition), "Once per turn, you can discard 1 Spell Card to Special Summon 1 Level 4 monster from your Deck. It cannot attack this turn."
That can have book chained to it, though it won't negate the effect.
Monk's controller will still summon a level 4 monster and it still cannot attack.

So yes, Book of Moon can stop Summoner Monk IF if it chained to the right effect.
__________________
My trades thread : ~Searching for Spellcasters~

My shop for masks, fx makeup and costume stuff, like in my avatar : NorthFur FX
SuperJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 09:50 PM   #13
ThaibaCo
Judge
 
ThaibaCo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3,155
iTrader: 34 (97%)
ThaibaCo is on a distinguished road
Default

Fine, it can stop the effect to switch to defense.

The first is a continuous effect and is only active while the monster is face up. I don't consider that stopping it. It's like saying removing Jinzo stops his effect.

Hey, stop isn't even correct YuGiOh terminology.
__________________
ThaibaCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 11:55 PM   #14
Torx the Mechdragon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 170
iTrader: 0
Torx the Mechdragon is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpie-ova View Post
I am sure. Summoner Monk's text says nothing about it needing to remain face-up.

Once the effect is activated, you must negate it to prevent it from resolving. Book Of Moon does not negate anything.

Your judge is wrong.

However, there is one scenario that BoM might stop Monk:

When Monk is initially summoned, its effect to switch to defense activate. You can then chain BoM to flip it face-down and the player won't be able to use Monk's special summon effect since Spell Speed 1 can't chain to Spell Speed 2.
To me this is the best way to us "BoM" .


Torx

Additional Comment:

Also SuperJay said it right as will.

Additional Comment:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpie-ova View Post
I am sure. Summoner Monk's text says nothing about it needing to remain face-up.

Once the effect is activated, you must negate it to prevent it from resolving. Book Of Moon does not negate anything.

Your judge is wrong.

However, there is one scenario that BoM might stop Monk:

When Monk is initially summoned, its effect to switch to defense activate. You can then chain BoM to flip it face-down and the player won't be able to use Monk's special summon effect since Spell Speed 1 can't chain to Spell Speed 2.
To me this is the best way to us "BoM".

Also SuperJay said it right as will.


Torx

Last edited by Torx the Mechdragon : 05-10-2009 at 11:55 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Torx the Mechdragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:17 AM   #15
wingwing6
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 702
iTrader: 8 (100%)
wingwing6 is on a distinguished road
Default

so am i right to say that:
1. BOM can prevent the turn player from using monk's 3rd effect(Once per turn, you can discard 1 Spell Card to Special Summon 1 Level 4 monster from your Deck. It cannot attack this turn) if the player had just summoned monk to his field?
2.BOM cant prevent the turn player from using monk's 3rd effect(Once per turn, you can discard 1 Spell Card to Special Summon 1 Level 4 monster from your Deck. It cannot attack this turn) if the player had previously summoned monk to his field?
thanks
wingwing6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 05:21 AM   #16
Ridders
Go to bed.
 
Ridders's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: South Wales
Posts: 13,855
iTrader: 22 (100%)
Ridders will become famous soon enough
Default

If you chain BoM to Monk's effect that activates upon it's summon. The 'Switch to DEF' one, then it'll be flipped face-down and the owner has no chance at activating it's 'Ditch Spell Summon LV4' effect.

Now if you chained BoM to 'Ditch Spell Summon LV4' effect, then Monk's effect will still resolve.
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ridders View Post
I really don't see 2 face-up Burning Abyss as situational.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Profiter View Post
Then you don't play competitively.
Ridders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 01:33 PM   #17
fuecheeyaj
Pojo Veteran
 
fuecheeyaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 534
iTrader: 23 (96%)
fuecheeyaj is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpie-ova View Post
Nope. You must negate the effect of Summon Monk once its activated. Flipping it face-down will not stop the effect.
A lot of you guys are definitely wrong. The judge was absolutely correct. Summoner Monk has three effects like one of the members said. The first one is when he is summoned, and must be switch to defense position. That is when you can use Book of Moon to flip it face down to prevent the special summoning effect from activating. You are chaining book of moon to the first effect. The second effect is where you can discard a card to special summon a lvl 4 monster from your deck. Once the play has gotten to the second effect, you can no longer prevent it from resolving with Book of Moon. The last effect is where he can't be tributed, which is continuous.

Now this is the correct ruling and it should make sense if you think it thoroughly. But the person who posted this forum wasn't specific about when Book of Moon was activated to flip summoner monk down. Thus, I guess people got confused.

Last edited by fuecheeyaj : 12-26-2009 at 01:38 PM.
fuecheeyaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 01:34 PM   #18
SCtheOnly
The Shodaime
 
SCtheOnly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 10,836
iTrader: 115 (100%)
SCtheOnly is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuecheeyaj View Post
A lot of you guys are definitely wrong. The judge was absolutely correct. Summoner Monk actually has two effects. The first one is when he is summoned, and must be switch to defense position. That is when you can use Book of Moon to flip it face down to prevent the second effect from activating. You are chaining book of moon to the first effect. The second effect is where you can discard a card to special summon a lvl 4 monster from your deck. Once the play has gotten to the second effect, you can no longer prevent it from resolving with Book of Moon.

Now this is the correct ruling and it should make sense if you think it thoroughly.
Thanks for stating something that was stated earlier in a thread that was resolved 6 months ago.
__________________
The Shodaime

Naruto
SCtheOnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:51 PM   #19
fuecheeyaj
Pojo Veteran
 
fuecheeyaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 534
iTrader: 23 (96%)
fuecheeyaj is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SCtheOnly View Post
Thanks for stating something that was stated earlier in a thread that was resolved 6 months ago.
Thank you for reminding me of what I stated that was stated earlier in a thread that was resolved 6 months ago
fuecheeyaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.