Go Back   Pojo.com Forums > Yu-Gi-Oh! > Yu-Gi-Oh TCG Q & A
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2008, 09:02 PM   #1
ryu991
Pojo Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Age: 35
Posts: 7,505
iTrader: 3 (100%)
ryu991 is on a distinguished road
Default ryko vs. stardust, does he still mill?

stardust attacks ryko, I target him with rykos effect, obv the opponent negates it with stardust. Does the mill still happen?

I'm guessing yes because he was till flipped I just need some verification.
ryu991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:04 PM   #2
Kyo9030
Registered User
 
Kyo9030's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Washington, D.C.
Age: 24
Posts: 348
iTrader: 4 (100%)
Kyo9030 is on a distinguished road
Default

The milling effect is mandatory, while the destruction effect is not, I am pretty sure he will still mill, if im wrong sum plz correct me.
__________________

Member of Team Sexual Harassment Panda
Kyo9030 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:05 PM   #3
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,949
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

The answer is no.

Ryko's milling effect and destruction effect are only 1 effect. If Stardust negates its activation, the entire effect dissapears.

The targetted Card isn't destroyed, and no Cards are sent to the Graveyard.

Quote:
The milling effect is mandatory, while the destruction effect is not, I am pretty sure he will still mill, if im wrong sum plz correct me.
The entire effect is mandatory (since it is a FLIP Effect).

You can opt to destroy a Card or not, but the nature of the effect is being mandatory, for chain purposes and whatnot. The two actions are still one effect.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:09 PM   #4
Azn_
NeverGonnaLetYouGo
 
Azn_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,792
iTrader: 0
Azn_ is on a distinguished road
Default

So if you choose not to destroy, you don't mill right?
__________________
Colors of the rainbow

My eBay auctions!
Azn_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 09:17 PM   #5
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,949
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Superstar00023 View Post
So if you choose not to destroy, you don't mill right?
You always mill.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:02 AM   #6
JWill
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 105
iTrader: 0
JWill is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryu991 View Post
stardust attacks ryko, I target him with rykos effect, obv the opponent negates it with stardust. Does the mill still happen?

I'm guessing yes because he was till flipped I just need some verification.
i dont think stardust can activate in the dmg step correct me if wrong..
JWill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:04 AM   #7
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,949
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWill View Post
i dont think stardust can activate in the dmg step correct me if wrong..
Stardust Dragon can activate its effect during the Damage Step, because it has a Quick Effect which negates the activation of a Card.

Other similar Cards can also be activated during the Damage Step, such as Gladiator Beast Heraklinos, Light and Darkness Dragon, etc.

Still, the scenario can happen outside of the Damage Step
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:04 AM   #8
Gibdo
Yoroshiku ne =)
 
Gibdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Age: 26
Posts: 3,049
iTrader: 34 (97%)
Gibdo is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWill View Post
i dont think stardust can activate in the dmg step correct me if wrong..
You're wrong ^_^
Gibdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:13 AM   #9
ZombieJesus!
BrAAiiNnSs!
 
ZombieJesus!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sarasota, Fl
Age: 30
Posts: 4,974
iTrader: 2 (100%)
ZombieJesus! is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ness00 View Post
Stardust Dragon can activate its effect during the Damage Step, because it has a Quick Effect which negates the activation of a Card.

Other similar Cards can also be activated during the Damage Step, such as Gladiator Beast Heraklinos, Light and Darkness Dragon, etc.

Still, the scenario can happen outside of the Damage Step
I would say the best comparison to Stardust in the damage step would be Prime Material Dragon.
__________________
Frognarchs
Dragunity

Robert Tucker
Level 1 Rulings Comprehension
ZombieJesus! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 10:17 AM   #10
ness00
セクサリス
 
ness00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 25
Posts: 36,949
iTrader: 0
ness00 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZombieJesus! View Post
I would say the best comparison to Stardust in the damage step would be Prime Material Dragon.
Let's not get into it. We may crash into some major differences.
__________________
ness00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

 
Advertisement


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.