PDA

View Full Version : Shien Vs Damage step?


TimeMage88
05-05-2011, 08:25 AM
They can't negate my Shrink or Half Counter with Shein can they? Because it is in the Damage step right.

Ridders
05-05-2011, 08:27 AM
Wrong.

Monsters who can negate the activation of something can be used during the Damage Step.

TimeMage88
05-05-2011, 08:40 AM
page 34 is weird.

Because it stats only centin cards are alowed to be played during this step.

Counter Traps or cards that would change the attack values or monsters.

Noobazn88
05-05-2011, 08:49 AM
...shien and barkion and beast and landoise can all negate crap during damage step

Redshift
05-05-2011, 09:04 AM
page 34 is weird.

Because it stats only centin cards are alowed to be played during this step.

Counter Traps or cards that would change the attack values or monsters.
That's just a basic guideline, as is the rest of the rulebook in general. We have individual card rulings that say other effects can activate in the Damage Step, and these are just as official as the rulebook. For further info, reread the sticky.

From "Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En"'s rulings:

The effect to negate a Spell/Trap Card can be activated during the Damage Step.

TimeMage88
05-05-2011, 09:35 AM
Its probley that way, just to boost card sales. (Just saying)

They probley see it as well Shi is Undoing the Attack points that it would have lost so it can be used during this step. Because it does change the Attack points of the card.

But we all know how Broken this game is, but we still play it.

SkullBuster
05-05-2011, 09:37 AM
Its probley that way, just to boost card sales. (Just saying)

They probley see it as well Shi is Undoing the Attack points that it would have lost so it can be used during this step. Because it does change the Attack points of the card.

But we all know how Broken this game is, but we still play it.

Probably you just think the game is broken because you don't want to understand the gears that move the mechanism. The rulings work fine in most circumstances. It's not always some random BKSS that decides how cards interact.

Redshift
05-05-2011, 09:42 AM
Its probley that way, just to boost card sales. (Just saying)
What? All monsters that negate effect activations can activate in the Damage Step. These rulings have nothing to do with business.

TimeMage88
05-05-2011, 10:13 AM
(Just saying)

They probley see it as well Shi is
Undoing the Attack points that it would have lost so it can be used during this step. Because it does change the Attack points of the card.



Thats why that statement is true. and explans why they work like that.

Redshift
05-05-2011, 10:25 AM
Thats why that statement is true. and explans why they work like that.
That's still wrong. By that logic, "Imperial Order" can be activated during the Damage Step. Shi En's effect does not change ATK or DEF. The simple rule is that Quick Effects that negate effect activations can be used in the Damage Step. That is the reason why.

MATT001
05-05-2011, 10:25 AM
Thats why that statement is true. and explans why they work like that.

No, it's just that Monster Quick Effects can be activated in the Damage Step. Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En's effect does not alter ATK/DEF values, even if it negates the activation of an effect that would alter them (the values are never altered in that case, because the activation is negated).

ness00
05-05-2011, 12:50 PM
General rules trump your conspiracy theories.