View Full Version : More noob questions
01-20-2010, 04:43 PM
Say I play a planeswalker w/ a starting loyalty of 3, if they bolt right as I play it will it die or can I use priority or something like that to use it's +1 ability so it'll live.
01-20-2010, 04:47 PM
You have the priority since it's your turn. Once you already paid by add counter[s]... or other scenario, removing a counter[s], your opponent can Bolt it...
If it has more than 3 when they cast it, your Planeswalker will survive.
01-21-2010, 08:07 AM
They CAN'T bolt it right as you play it. You get to do whatever you want before they get to. (That's what priority is.) If you don't do anything, THEN they can bolt it and destroy it.
01-21-2010, 12:57 PM
Is there a ruling based on his priority question by any chance?
01-21-2010, 02:40 PM
What? MTG doesn't have rulings, it has rules.
01-21-2010, 03:07 PM
Ok... rephrase: "does priority appear on the MtG comprehensive rules?"
01-21-2010, 04:39 PM
Yeah, here's the section that covers it.
To sum up:
- No matter whose turn it is, you receive priority immediately after you cast something, i.e. you respond first to your own spells.
- When something resolves, the person whose turn it is receives priority first.
So, in the planeswalker case, as long as you cast the planeswalker on your turn, you do get first dibs on casting or activating something else when it enters the battlefield, so it should be safe from a single Bolt.
115.3. Which player has priority is determined by the following rules:
115.3a The active player receives priority at the beginning of most steps and phases, after any turn-based actions (such as drawing a card during the draw step; see rule 703) have been dealt with and abilities that trigger at the beginning of that phase or step have been put on the stack. No player receives priority during the untap step. Players usually don’t get priority during the cleanup step (see rule 514.3).
115.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves.
115.3c If a player has priority when he or she casts a spell, activates an ability, or takes a special action, that player receives priority afterward.
115.3d If a player has priority and chooses not to take any actions, that player passes. If any mana is in that player’s mana pool, he or she announces what mana is there. Then the next player in turn order receives priority.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.