View Full Version : Only way to get a resource advantage in the game.
08-18-2004, 07:53 AM
I posted a theory on Mammoth a while ago that tries to get a resource advantage but it was to my avail. This time i think I have finally found a way to get a resouce advantage; and it is soooo simple.
Consider for one moment. Sabertooth attacks a back row storm lv4 using a flying kick to give himself flight and +3. So, naturally storm pays 2 endurance to negate flight on sabertooth. The attack would reset but the flying kick would have remained used. Keep that in mind; the flying kick became used and wasted. Got it? Cool.
Now consider this:
I have a doom army and as such I am very very wary of getting Kaboomed. So, as defence for myself i put in Have a Blast. Why? Because if somebody targets, say, Doomstadt, I can use Have a blast (in response) on my own location and although i will lose my doomstadt (since i have destroyed it myself) the other player will not have dropped the game down a round of resources-since i get to replace the doomstadt with the top card of my deck face down.
However, the other player has still played his have a blast. Just like the flying kick, the plot twist does not reset when the target of the plot twist has become negated. The clencher? "KO target location and KO this card".
This is what im talking about. Lets say its the 6 drop round when Ka-Boom! is played? The opponent still KOs a Ka-Boom! as a condition of playing the card, taking him down to 5 resources but because I used Have a Blast on my location, i still am on 6.
The only way to get a resource advantage?
You tell me.
08-18-2004, 08:11 AM
I assume using Fizzle on Ka-Boom! or Not So Fast/Fizzle on Foiled would work as well.
Even so, it's not really resource speed, you'd still be at 5 resources at turn 5 or 6 on turn 6...
Furthermore, I'm constantly behind in resources, I play Genosha, Flip Locations I already control in order to KO the first, not setting down a resource.
Therefore, I wouldn't say your method is the only way to be up a resource on your opponent, it is, however, a cool idea, and something I'll have to try in any deck in which I use Have a Blast! over Ka-Boom!
08-18-2004, 08:32 AM
I Agree that its definately not the only way to get one resource over an opponent. But i think that its the only way to force your opponent to have one less resource. All of the other ways (genosha/ underground sentinel base etc) are the decision of your opponent. That is to say that when they play Kaboom, they arent banking on you being able to get out a higher drop than them. Thats a pretty huge advantage if they arent prepared for it ;)
Regarless, its a cool trick to play against your New brotherhood competitors.
Only thing is...4 have a blast? approx $80+
08-18-2004, 08:52 AM
First of all, Josef Witshi, Apocalypse, Etrigan, and Trigon can all give you resource advantage.
I'm not buying your idea either. With no location, Ka-Boom! won't have a legal target. I think it would be an illegal play, and Ka-Boom! would flip back down. Koing Ka-Boom!(that ! is starting to get annoying..) is not an additional cost, so I don't think Fizzle would do anything other then negate the card. How that will work is interesting though, and I'm not sure. I need Docstar7 here.
Edit: From the UDE card FAQ:
Plot Twist, Threshold 2
Play only from your resource row and only during your combat phase.
If Ka-Boom! is in your resource row, KO target location and KO Ka-Boom!
—If the target is no longer in play when Ka-Boom!’s effect resolves, you will not KO Ka-Boom!
—If the target is turned face down when Ka-Boom!’s effect resolves, it no longer counts as a location. You will not KO it or Ka-Boom!
—If Ka-Boom! is turned face down or has left play before its effect resolves, “Ka-Boom!” will no longer be in your resource row. You will not KO the target or Ka-Boom!
I'm still uncertain what happens. Will Ka-Boom! just stay face-up? In any case, the gaining resource trick won't work.
08-18-2004, 11:38 AM
I don't believe it works though. At a PCQ tournament i was playing Sentinels vs Doom (poor matchup for me lol). Anyways he uses Relocation on my Underground Sentinel Base. I ask the judge if i can respond with activating ANOTHER USB. I hoped it would destroy my current one and Relocation would still be transferred. Thus putting me 1 resource ahead. The judge said that instead my original USB would be destroyed and Relocation would be flipped back facedown.
So I think with your case using Ka-Boom that the Ka-Boom would be flipped back facedown.
08-18-2004, 12:31 PM
If your opponent uses Ka-Boom! and you chain with HaB!, the Ka-Boom! will "fizzle", but it would still stay, face-up, in the resource row. Well, that's how we play it at my tournaments, anyway. =/
08-18-2004, 12:39 PM
The ruling is that you have to KO Ka-Boom! and the traget location on resolution. It's an all or nothing thing, so if the Location is no longer a legal target, then Ka-boom! does not get KO'd.
Ka-Boom! is not reset either, it just resolves without doing anything, so it remains Face-up in the resource row.
Like stated, Josef is the only way to gain any resource advantage before turn 8. And he's not really all that good at it since it's rare that your opponent has no hand.
08-18-2004, 06:55 PM
if the target is no longer legal, you do not KO ka-boom
08-19-2004, 07:01 AM
So, the resolution is that the Kaboom is played but became negated. It stays flipped but useless?
Quick question tho.
Fizzle says target plot twist EFFECT
does that mean that you can use this on "Ko target location and KO this card".
In this sentence are there 2 effects? "Ko target location" is one effect and the other is "Ko this card" If this is the case, what is to stop you from using fizzle to negate the effect "KO target location" leaving the card with only the effect "KO this card"?
This is how i saw fizzle get used recently and the arguement was because it says to negate an effect. Not to negate a card.
Incidently, does that mean when a plot twist has 2 effects you can only negate one? Eg, on a flying kick you can negate the flight but not the +3? or vice versa?
08-19-2004, 09:34 AM
it's a good question, but misapplied.
Flying kick only has one effect, it gives both flight and +3. you can't choose one or the other, so it's just one effect.
Same with Ka-Boom!. It's all one effect.
Something with two effects would be A child Named Valeria. Two completely different effects, that require two different things to be in place. That's really the only plot twist I can think of, but there are a ton of locations with mulitple effects.
I'll look around some more to get a more definate answer, as I'm not positive about this one.
Edit: Okay, Like I said, Flying Kick and Ka-Boom! only have one effect, just multiple things happeneing in that one effect.
A Child Named Valeria would create two effects, and as such, you could only negate one of those two effects with a Fizzle.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.