View Full Version : Green Baboon, Defender of the Forest
03-10-2009, 05:54 PM
I've been told this card is useless now. When people say this, they're refering to the ruling that states baboon can't activate his effect in the damage step. I've searched and searched, some of the most prodominant ruling websites, and have found this ruling to be false, for America at least. The ruling is true for the OCG, but has yet to wash upon american soils! True or false?
03-10-2009, 06:02 PM
If you attend to an event in US, it is valid. This rule was used on Crimson Crisis Sneak peaks last weeks.
If you are in Latin America or Europe, this ruling is only applied if you attend to a Konami sponsored event.
03-10-2009, 06:34 PM
So if your in the US, baboon sucks?
03-10-2009, 07:08 PM
That doesn't make sense. Let me re word I guess. If I play in a hobby league tourney this Thursday and I use Baboon, can it go off when a monster is destroyed from battle?
03-10-2009, 07:13 PM
Let me rephrase the answer then: all US Konami sponsored tournaments must use the new updated ruling for baboon and other cards.
However, currently Konami has no real database or support for judges with complete and appropriate rulings. They've announced they are currently working on it and will be available in a couple of months. In the meantime, Konami contacts directly the store owners and tournament organizers with instructions about organized play.
Note due to legal entanglements, all TCG rulings have not been updated in the last month in their usual databases, but the rules have been changed since then. It is possible, since there's no other resources available, that some stores and local leagues are still using the TCG's outdated rulings. If the one you attend this Thursday is one of them, it's possible they rule baboon as it was before the ruling reversal. You may ask the head judge first to avoid any confusion.
You can send a mail to email@example.com for further information about it.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.