View Full Version : Question about Jutsu Chains
09-04-2006, 10:37 PM
In the rule book, theres the line "However, when both players decide to cut in at the same time" which confuses me a bit. I thought that the person attacking uses thier Jutsu before attacking. This makes me think that at the Jutsu phase, both plays can use Jutsu at the same time. Which is it? Someone please help :confused:
09-04-2006, 11:31 PM
Here is how it works.
Player A (Turn Player) sends his teams to battle.
Player B (Defender) chooses his teams to send out to block Player A's teams. Let's just have an example:
Player A's Sasuke (No Effect - 3/1) and Sakura (No effect - 1/1)
is blocked by
Player B's Choji (2/0) and Ino (0/1 + 1/1)
Player A's Kiba (2/0 + 1/1), Hinata (0/1), and Akamaru (0/1)
Is blocked by
Player B's Kankuro (1/1) and Temari (0/2)
Now, in the battlefield the turn player may choose to use a Jutsu card, if they do not play one, then the blocking player gets a chance.
After either player activates a Jutsu card, the other player may 'cut in' with their own.
And after a chain of Jutsu cards resolves, the turn player once again gets a chance to play a jutsu (or pass and let the opponent play one).
So, with those teams out, here's what happens.
Sasuke and Sakura (Team Power: 4) VS. Choji and Ino (Team Power: 4)
Kiba, Hinata, and Akamaru (Team Power: 5) VS. Kankuro and Temari (Team Power: 3)
Player A, not wanting to tie, has Sakura use Kunai, to give herself a +2/+2
Player B, not liking that plan, has Ino use Mind Transfer Jutsu on Sakura before Kunai resolves.
Player A, noting that Sasuke is in trouble if that happens, uses String Control Jutsu to get him onto the other team.
This ends the chain and resolves:
String Control Jutsu: Sasuke is now on Kiba's Team as a back Ninja (Power for that Team: 6).
Mind Transfer Jutsu: Sakura is now a Standby Ninja for Player B.
Kunai: Fails to resolve, user left the battlefield.
The Sasuke+Sakura squad is no longer there, Choji and Ino are safe from the Showdown Phase.
Now then, after that chain ends, Player A passes on Jutsu use, Player B decides to let Kankuro use Puppet Master Jutsu.
Player A cuts in with Ninja Art of Beast Mimicry: All-Four Jutsu, Kiba doubles his current combat.
Player B doesn't add anything else now.
Player A decides to cut in AGAIN with Cross-Shaped Shuriken from Kiba.
No more additions to this chain.
Cross-Shaped Shuriken: Kiba becomes 6/1
All-Four Jutsu Resolves: Kiba doubles his 6 to 12
Puppet Master Jutsu resolves: Crow is now a Back Ninja on Kankuro's team.
Player A passes on Jutsu use, Player B has Choji go and use Escape Jutsu on Kiba.
Player A doesn't add anything, Player B stops his Jutsu use too.
Escape Jutsu: Kiba returns to his printed stats (2/0)
Both players pass on Jutsu use now, one after the other. In the Showdown:
Kiba/Hinata/Akamaru/Sasuke (Power: 5) vs. Kankuro/Temari/Crow (Power: 6)
Kiba as Head ninja takes 1 damage.
To make a long explanation short (TOO LATE) During the Exchange of Jutsu phase, both players make plays.
09-05-2006, 03:25 PM
Wow, that helped a lot. So, one last question about this, is it possible for player A to pass, player B to play a jutsu, player A to pass again, player B to play another jutsu, and so on, so that one player is constantly using jutsu and the other is passing?
You've been a big help!! Thanks!!
09-05-2006, 07:09 PM
Yes, that's totally allowed.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.