View Full Version : using advantages
08-06-2006, 12:17 AM
if i draw an advantage but the effect is meaningless such as "if the opponents strike is 7+ then . . . " can i play it anyways but pay the cost and reflip in that zone. the FAQ at the end of the manual is leaning towards a yes. so i'm prettymuch paying for a charge and a reflip
The PumpKin King
08-06-2006, 07:09 PM
i dont see why you would cause that would be a waste of a advantage i mean thats a meh effect why not try something else?
still i think you can but i dont suggest it
08-06-2006, 08:04 PM
yes, you can. Just because the effect doesn't happen doesn't mean you can't charge your zone. If you focus it you get an energy, but you defend your next down zone. If a zone is already charged, then you pay you pay the sidebar cost to flip the card. If your sidebar cost is a green, that's not that big a loss. But if its a yellow or red, I'd think about focusing.
08-07-2006, 10:11 PM
WildWill covered most of it -- just a couple of additional clarifications:
If the advantage has a "reflip" effect, or another card in play allows you to reflip an advantage in the current zone, you don't have to pay to play the advantage (don't pay the sidebar cost), you just pay the reflip cost, put the advantage in your discard and flip the next card into that zone.
As WildWill says, even a useless advantage allows you to charge that zone by playing it, so it may be worth it just for that. Otherwise, I agree, that if the cost is too high or you are in need of the energy, than focusing may be the better option. You also have to consider how important it is to you to continue to flip cards in the current zone, based on things like, whether you like the effect the ally in that zone is giving you, etc.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.