View Full Version : Royal Opression
12-08-2005, 11:45 AM
If an opponent uses a Return From Different Dimention and I chain Royal Opression onto it:
does the opponent still pay half their life points?
do all the creatures brought out this way get negated or do I have to pay 4000 to clear their whole field?
does the whole card get negated?
if so, do all the creatures intended to be brought back get thrown into the graveyard?
Also, If I have 2 Royal Opressions out, and the opponent uses Dark World Lightning and destroys R.O.#1 and special summons Goldd. Can I use the 2nd R.O. to negate Goldd? And will that end up negating Dark World Lightning and thus I keep both R.O's in play?
12-08-2005, 12:19 PM
if royal oppression is face down you can activate it in chain to RftDD butt you can't activate it's effect so monster's still come to the field
if you chain the effect of an already face up royal oppression to RftDD the opponent pays half his lp, the card is negated, monsters stay removed from the game, and you only pay 800 lp
you can negate the special summon of goldd with your 2nd royal oppression that was already face up, but that doesn't negate dark world lghting in any way, dark world lightning doesn't special summon monsters, is the effect of goldd that special summon itself, also the first royal oppression was already destroyed by the time goldd's effect activates
12-08-2005, 12:23 PM
first of all, you can't use 'Royal Oppression''s effect in the same chain you flip it face up, with that in mind I'll assume you have it already face up for your questions.
1. paying LPs is a cost to activate 'Return from the Different Dimension', it's never refunded, you can chain 'Royal Oppression''s effect to 'Return from the Different Dimension' and negate it, in which case the monsters are not summoned and stay removed from play (you only pay once, since it's a single effect).
2. there are a couple of scenarios that can be drawn from this situation:
a. if you chain your face down 'Royal Oppression' to 'Dark World Lightning', it's effect will disappear and your opponent doesn't discard a card.
b. if you have two face down 'Royal Oppression' and chain the one not being targeted by 'Dark World Lightning' (thus letting your other 'Royal Oppression' be destroyed) you'll be able to use 'Royal Oppression''s effect to negate 'Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World''s effect when it starts a new chain.
c. if you don't chain either 'Royal Oppression' to 'Dark World Lightning', you won't be able to negate 'Goldd, Wu-Lord of Dark World''s effect later.
01-25-2006, 11:10 PM
If I destroy Vampire Lord and Phoenix with Dark Hole, then use Royal Opression
to prevent them from returning to the field, do I have to pay the LP cost each
turn to keep them from returning to the field?
Or do they stop trying to come back after using Royal Opression on them only once?
01-26-2006, 01:26 AM
well, you could have just started a new thread...
if you want to use 'Royal Oppression' against the effects of 'Vampire Lord' and 'Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys', you'd have to use it when the effect activates (when they are still in the graveyard), that would negate the effect itself, and since they are still in the graveyard they can't be destroyed, and in turn their effect wouldn't activate again next turn.
01-26-2006, 07:43 AM
'When you Special Summon "Vampire Lord" with his effect, your opponent can negate the Special Summon with "Royal Oppression", but the "Vampire Lord" will have been destroyed by your opponent's card effect ("Royal Oppression") and will be Special Summoned again during your next Standby Phase.'
So, does this mean that if you negate V-Lord when he's in the Graveyard with Royal Oppression, he doesn't come back, but if you wait until he hits the field he'll come back?
01-26-2006, 08:06 AM
I'm aware of that ruling, and personally disagree with it.
mainly because 'Royal Oppression' has the same timing issues as 'Solemn Judgment' and 'Horn of Heaven', so you can't negate a Special Summon generated by an effect (once 'Vampire Lord' hits the field, it's too late).
BUT 'Royal Oppression' has a second effect that lets you negate an effect that Special Summons, so you'd negate 'Vampire Lord''s effect while it's still in the graveyard, making it impossible for 'Royal Oppression' to destroy it.
01-26-2006, 08:11 AM
I'm not trying to be rude, since I respect you, but how can someone personally disagree with an official ruling?
01-26-2006, 08:15 AM
like I told you, 'Royal Oppression' has the same timing as 'Horn of Heaven' and 'Solemn Judgment' (and we all know that you can't negate 'Vampire Lord''s Special Summon with those cards), and that's even reinforced in the official rulings:
• There are basically 2 ways to Special Summon a monster. The first way is with a Spell Card like "Monster Reborn", a Trap Card like "Call of the Haunted", or an Effect Monster like "Magical Scientist". The second way is built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect, such as "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" or "Dark Necrofear". "Royal Oppression" can negate both of these types of Special Summon. In the first case, you chain the activation of "Royal Oppression"'s effect to the activation of the Spell, Trap, or Monster Card's effect, and negate the effect. In the second case, right before the monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon (the same procedure that you use for "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment").
and if you read all the official rulings under 'Royal Oppression', you'll see that the only ruling that doesn't follow the pattern I presented is the 'Vampire Lord' one.
01-26-2006, 08:32 AM
Weird...somebody should contact UDE.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.