View Full Version : Need a judges answer plz
12-07-2005, 06:27 PM
I have heard at one of my tournaments that when your opponent could play a quiqk play out of there hand such as mystical space typhoon on a imperial order. Now i have looked at the official yugioh card ruling site to see if this was true but did not find out. Now i would gladly apreciate any comments about this.
12-07-2005, 06:32 PM
If "Imperial Order" is active on the field, you may still activate Spell Cards (since it only negates the effect, not the activation). The effect will be negated. But it's always good if you want to pay the cost for whatever reason or just want to get cards out of your hand, off the field, or into the Graveyard.
But back to your specific question... which I'm not really sure of what you're asking. But I have an idea.
Quick-Play Spell Cards may be activated from your hand at any time during your own turn, including as part of a chain.
So if your opponent were to activate IO during your turn, you could chain "Mystical Space Typhoon" out of your hand to destroy IO. And since IO is a Continuous Card, since it is not on the field its effect would disappear and it would not negate any Spell Cards.
Edit: And I'm slapping the first person that says it doesn't matter or anything along those lines because IO is banned... that has nothing to do with the question or the rulings, and believe it or not there are people who like to play Traditional
12-07-2005, 06:32 PM
If you CHAIN Mystical Space Typhoon to Imperial Order, then Imperial Order will be destroyed.
Chain resolves backwards
MST destroys IO
IO disappears because it's been destroyed before it could resolve.
12-07-2005, 06:34 PM
ok thanks guys. im suprised of myself neither the person that i was playing with nor i knew of this thourly.
oh and one other thing why isnt there imperial order or mystical space typhoon on the official yugioh card rulings site?
12-07-2005, 06:39 PM
it is, just not word for word. look up chains and how they resolve. quick-play spells and a full explanation of them should be in the rule book found in structure/starter decks (which they don't post on the web site).
12-07-2005, 06:53 PM
it's actually in the section of advanced gameplay under the title:
Rules for Quick-Play Spell Cards
You can chain Quick-Play Spell Cards from your hand as long as it is during your turn.
Player A activates "Dark Hole."
Player B chains "Imperial Order."
Player A chains "Mystical Space Typhoon" from his/her hand.
Also, you can chain or play a Quick-Play Spell Card from your hand during any Phase of your turn, even during your Battle Phase.
Activating/chaining/playing Quick-Play Spell Cards from your hand, during your turn, is not limited to Main Phase 1 or 2 and can occur in the Draw, Standby, Battle, and End Phases. Of course, you cannot activate a Quick-Play Spell Card from your hand during your opponent's turn.
You can also Set a Quick-Play Spell Card during your Main Phase 1 or 2. Once you Set a Quick-Play Spell Card, you cannot activate it that turn (similar to a Trap Card) but can activate it on any subsequent turn. (This rule does not apply to normal Spell Cards; you may Set "Raigeki" during your turn and still activate it that same turn).
straight from the horses mouth...or rather, the UDE website.
12-07-2005, 09:06 PM
Just in case you meant what I read.
- When a quick play is played from your hand it still has to hit the spell/trap zone so doesn't get around the effects of cards such as Imperial that may have already been activated and resolved.
This is because I've had some people try to tell me that because the card was
played from there hand then it doesn't matter if their spell/trap zone was full and other silly things like that the card can't be effected by other spells or traps on the field.
vBulletin®, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.